Claire’s Toad-in-the-Hole

Claire’s Toad-in-the-Hole recipe is a good one. I tried it today, and it was a total success. I’ve never made Toad-in-the-Hole before today. I’ve never made Yorkshire Pudding before today. I thought it was difficult. I thought it was easier to buy Aunt Bessie’s frozen (gasp) Yorkshire puds. Well, guess what – I was wrong by miles. It’s easy, it’s fun, and it’s darned right exciting to watch it rise higher and higher, and then turn golden brown.

I’ll not reprint Claire’s recipe here because she deserves all the credit and you should visit her lovely blog. Pop over to Claire’s Promenade Plantings for lovely photos, the recipe, and a post well worth reading.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    That looks utterly spelndid! I was waiting to see it after you mentioned it last night. Really first time out for a pudding, wow !!! I am so impressed both by your cooking and by Claire’s recipe. What sort of sausages did you use in there ? I haven’t made this for many years, though we do make Yorkshire puddings occasionally for traditional roast dinners. xx Jo

    1. Misky says:

      I just followed Claire’s method step-by-step, so I can’t really credit my skills — it’s all Claire’s recipe writing skills. My first thought when making the batter was, gosh this is sure runny, but it turned out perfectly! I used plain old Sainsbury’s Cumberland sausage links, not the big one. I also simmer sausages in water for 5-minutes if they’re going into the oven to bake. It reduces the fat (for Peder), and ensures that they’re fully cooked. You’d never know they had a little simmer, too, as it just tightens up the meat a bit and sets the skins tight so they don’t split. I learned that trick from my MIL. 🙂

  2. Oh wow you made it, and wow it does look totally delicious ! Thank you so much for your kind words and mention, and a monster sized PHEW that it came good. I know when I write up a recipe and practice it before hand that I try and remember the small details, but you know what it’s like when you do things “automatically”, you have a tendency to forget
    Anyway looking at your photo makes me tempted to have it again this weekend – I reckon it would be fab with red cabbage.
    And what a clever trick to simmer the sausages before – genius!
    They are predicting lousy weather again today so I’m ‘stuck’ indoors, humph grumph !

    1. Misky says:

      I was thrilled, and I’ll never buy Yorkshire puds again. We loved it! The last time we had toad-in-the-hole was in the Lake District a few years ago. It’s so delicious. I also made a good, rich onion gravy, made the proper way with a roux and lots of black pepper. Oh, and some leftover cranberry sauce, too. 😀

  3. Karen says:

    I had seen Claire’s recipe…it does look delicious.

    1. Misky says:

      Mine wasn’t veggie though. We are semi-carnivorous in this house. 🙂

      1. Karen says:

        Mine wouldn’t be veggie either as my husband loves pork sausages.

        1. Misky says:

          Don’t forget a bit of cranberry sauce or gelee, Karen, as it really sets off the flavour well. YUM! 🙂 Meatloaf tonight. (slurp!)

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

