Ruby Cranberry Gelée

Ruby Cranberry Gelée

I have discovered the ultimate cranberry sauce. The one that people who hate cranberries will say Hey, pass the cranberry sauce! But it’s not a sauce; it’s a gelée, and it’s heaven with a seductive wobble. This recipe comes by way of the Canal House Everyday Cookbook and as usual I had to tweak it a bit to substitute the cup of sugar with sweetener (diabetic-friendly). I used Half-Spoon this time rather than Splenda, but Splenda or an equivalent would work well stirred in at the very end.

Here’s the ingredient list and method that I used, which is based on the Canal House recipe. It makes about 2 cups or 500ml.

Canal House’s Cranberry-Port Gelée

1 cup ruby port wine
1 cup sugar or 1/2 cup Half-Spoon reduced sugar sweetener
1-1/2 tablespoons juniper berries
1 teaspoon black and pink peppercorns, although mixed works well, too
12-ounce/340grams fresh or frozen cranberries

cranberrySauce1s
Combine the first 4 ingredients into a medium-size pot, bring to a rolling boil and stir until the sugar is melted. Add the cranberries, reduce the heat to a simmer, and cook for 10-minutes until the berries are very soft and burst open.

cranberrySauce2s
Pour it all into a fine mesh sieve that’s set over a bowl, and gently press the cooked cranberries through the sieve with the back of a silicon spatula.

cranberrySauce3s
Press as much of the pulp and juice into the bowl as possible.

Stir the lighter juice and the thicker liquid together well, and then pour into a glass bowl, and refrigerate until well set (a couple of hours).

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow! Absolutely gorgeous! Where did you get the juniper berries?

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Anna! I bought them at the supermarket. Try the spice aisle of your local (large) supermarket. In the UK, we can buy them almost anywhere now. Thanks for stopping by for a read. 🙂

      1. I think I would have to order them online to get them. No junipers near here. I will have to get on that because I am dying to make this recipe.

        1. Misky says:

          Hi Anna, They have all sorts of them on Amazon US. Here’s the link from when I searched for juniper berries. Does this help? http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_1_7?url=search-alias%3Dgrocery&field-keywords=juniper+berries+whole&sprefix=juniper%2Cgrocery%2C351

  2. This did turn out heavenly. I remember the first time I read about juniper berries but couldn’t find them. They now have them at my favorite spice shop. I’m going to remember this.. for Christmas:)

    1. Misky says:

      It was astonishingly delicious, Barbara. 😉

  3. Joanna says:

    Looks very glamorous! Could one maybe use a little gin if juniper berries not available?

    1. Misky says:

      Absolutely! Such a brilliant idea, as it seems juniper berries aren’t easy for everyone to find. Thanks, Joanna. 🙂

  4. Karen says:

    I have everything to make your cranberry glee…I know I will enjoy the flavor combination.

    1. Misky says:

      I hope that it lives up to my rave reviews! 🙂

      1. Karen says:

        I’m sure it will.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

