Sandwiches for Sejer Island

Sandwiches for Sejer Island

My friend, Andrea, is a school teacher on Sejer Island in Denmark. She recently did an English Day for her students – they spoke English all day, ate tea sandwiches and drank English tea. She asked me for a few recipes, easy enough for children to prepare, but still traditionally appropriate for afternoon tea. You can read all about Andrea’s English Day at http://inourbooks.com/2012/11/12/monday-coffee-with-cream-and-definitely-stirred/

These are the sandwich filling recipes that I suggested, adding that these sandwiches can be cut into fun shapes or into rectangles, but either way the crust *must* be removed.

Lemony Cucumber and Prawn Sandwiches

6 slices wholemeal bread
½ cucumber, thinly sliced
4 tbsp mayonnaise
zest of 1 lemon (grated lemon skin)
6 large cooked prawns, halved for topping

For the lemony cucumber & prawn sandwiches, lightly spread 6 slices wholemeal bread with softened butter. Cover with a layer of thinly sliced cucumber, then use a 5-6cm round cutter to stamp out 12 circles. Mix together 4 tbsp mayonnaise with zest 1 lemon. Top each circle with 1 halved large cooked prawn and a dollop of the lemony mayonnaise.

Creamy Egg and Watercress Sandwiches

4 eggs
2 chopped spring onions
2-3 tbsp crème fraîche
12 small rolls or white sliced bread with crust removed
watercress , to serve

For the creamy egg & cress sandwiches, boil 4 eggs for 8 mins. Cool the eggs, peel, chop and mash, then mix with 2 chopped spring onions and 2-3 tbsp crème fraîche. Season with salt and pepper, then spread over 12 small rolls. Add a little cress, pop on the lids and serve.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. sounds delicious. and complicated 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Gosh, not complicated at all. Just mix it up and slap it on bread.

  2. ina says:

    They sound lovely! I wish I could eat eggs 😦 but will have to try the prawns soon!

    1. Misky says:

      The prawn sandwich is quite delicious, so I hope you enjoy it. 🙂

  3. J9 says:

    I love these recipes. They sound so fancy. I popped over to Andrea’s page and read about English Day, where the kids had “high tea” and wore ties with windsor knots. *L* So cute!

    1. Misky says:

      It seems that they had a very day! 😀

  4. cecilia says:

    oh egg and watercress!, years since I had those! I hope someone brought the wafer thin cucumber sandwiches.. and a sponge! I love tea! I bet it was a lovely day.. c

  5. I’ve been trying to duplicate the sandwiches my grandmother used to make (her mother was from England). I think she used those tiny loaves of rye bread, cream cheese, and cucumber. I just can’t get it right. You have me craving them again. Yum!

    1. Misky says:

      The bread is difficult to duplicate in the US because most people don’t have a ‘taste’ for European-style dark, heavy rye bread. It might be possible that your grandmother whipped the cream cheese so it’s airy and light rather than spreadable like butter. And of course the old problem of trying to replicate memories …. very hard to do. 🙂

  6. I did little tea sandwiches for a friend’s brunch once.. but I don’t think they “got” what I’d made.. I think they thought I was just serving egg salad sandwiches, lol!!

  7. Both sound delicious, but I especially like the prawn one! And you’re right – no crusts allowed! 🙂

  8. I love the idea of this, how fun for the kids.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

