Brydie’s Apple Spelt Cake

This is Brydie’s Spelt Apple Cake recipe, which I’ve slightly tweaked so my husband can eat a small slice from time to time. It’s lovely cake that just shouts autumn – it’s dense and moist, and scented with everything I associate with this time of year.

Tweaks: I’ve reduced the cinnamon, which Mr Misky detests, and upped the spices again with added nutmeg and mace. Mace gives it a warm flavour. I also left the skins on the apple slices because they were very thin, and the skins are good for you. Brydie’s recipe is here.

Brydie’s Apple Spelt Cake

220g or 2 cups wholemeal spelt flour
125g softened butter or margarine
2 beaten large eggs
1/2 cup natural unflavoured bio yogurt
1/3 cup (1:1) Stevia+sugar or 1/2 c honey
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 (pinch) mace
1 tsp baking powder
1 tart apple, cored and sliced, but with skin left on

Preheat the oven to 180c/160c Fan/350F/G4, and prep a 21cm springform cake tin with parchment paper. I grease the tin slightly so the paper stays in place better. A standard cake tin will work fine also, I think. Springform is my preference because they’re so easy.

Cream the softened butter, sugar/honey and vanilla together in a mixer bowl. Add the cinnamon, beaten eggs and natural yogurt.

Lightly stir together using a fork or small whisk the baking powder and spelt flour, and then add it a tablespoon at a time to the mixing bowl. Mix thoroughly.

Spoon it into the greased and parchment paper lined tin. Push the apple slices into the cake mixture, and bake at 180C for 30 – 40mins, or until a toothpick test comes out clean.

11 Comments Add yours

    1. Misky says:

      And yummy, too!

  1. I make a full meal once a week for an elderly lady who can’t cook as much as she likes anymore. I know she would love this! Def putting it on her “menu”.
    Thanks, Misk!!

    1. Misky says:

      I hope that she enjoys it, Karen. 😀

  2. I love Brydie’s blog:) You’ve made a gorgeous cake, Misky!! I should try this one!!

    1. Misky says:

      Very easy and simply delicious, Barbara.

  3. Karen says:

    I enjoy Brydie’s blog and this cake is perfect for using some of the apples in my orchard. You did a terrific job…it looks delicious.

    1. Misky says:

      It freezes really well, too. 🙂

  4. bizzylizzycooks says:

    I love a good apple cake… and yours sounds really lovely. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

  5. Misky, I’m so sorry I just saw this post now… it looks wonderful! Thank you for making it dear lady and I’m glad your husband got to eat a bit of it too.

    1. Misky says:

      It’s a lovely cake. Very impressive looking. Delicious. Total winner. 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

