How to Extend the Life of Cut Flowers

Homemade Cut Flower Extender. This mixture is comparable to the little packets that you get with cut flowers. Works a charm!

Ingredients

    • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
    • 1 tablespoon sugar
    • 2 drops bleach

Directions

  1. Add all ingredients to a vase 3/4 full of cool water. Mix to blend.
  2. Add fresh cut flowers to water making sure there are no leaves in the water.
9 Comments Add yours

  1. Veronica Roth says:

    That sounds very reasonable Misky. At least I can understand the reasons for each ingredient. Some people say add aspirin. I never understood that one.

    1. Misky says:

      I’ve heard that also, and I don’t know either. My aunt pours Sprite into her vase, dilutes it a bit with water, and she swears by that. I’ve never seen much difference with her method though.

  2. Gerry Wilson says:

    This is a great tip, Misky. I wish I’d known this a couple of weeks ago!

    1. Misky says:

      Sorry!! 😀

  3. Now that’s a great idea.. the bleach would kill the stuff that grows rotten!

    1. Misky says:

      Inded it does! 😀

  4. Karen says:

    Thanks for the tip…it is alway nice to have beautiful blossoms last a little longer.

    1. Misky says:

      My garden is blossom-less at the moment, so it’s back to buying flowers at the supermarket. We used to get those little packets of floral preservative free but not any longer. No we’ll make our own!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

