Vegetable Frittata from Leftovers

on

I love it when friends inspire me, and my friend Joanna at Zeb Bakes did just that this morning in her lovely blog post. She describes a wonderfully tempting veg frittata made by her husband.

Not having any leftover potatoes, I quickly boiled up a few to cool by lunchtime. My version emptied nibbly bits and pieces from the fridge: some blanched broccoli, sliced mushrooms, onion, chives, fresh thyme, grated sharp cheese, sliced new potatoes … and a few eggs. I made it just as Joanna’s recipe calls for, except for where I didn’t have stuff that she called for in which case I used a lot of other stuff, chop-chop-stir-stir fry-fry, and then stuck it in a blazing-hot oven for 5 minutes so the cheese would bubble and scorch slightly.

Yum Factor: 10
Erm… 11

Pop over to the Zeb Bakes for the recipe!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    That’s the spirit of the thing – use everything that takes your fancy xx thanks for the linky!

    1. Misky says:

      No problems – thanks for the inspiration. Lovely lunch with me and the Mister in the conservatory. Rain pitching down, leaves blowing, heating burning money left, right and centre … I am just sooo not ready to winter, Joanna!

  2. Veronica Roth says:

    Mmm, love empty-the-fridge frittatas. My frittata claim to fame is once we had visitors from England come to my cabin. (where there is no eletcricity) I made a frittata on a bon fire in a cast iron skillet. One of our visitors, a fellow Cordon Bleu chef, declared it the best frittata she ever had…!!!

    1. Misky says:

      In my opinion, nothing beats food cooked outdoors over a fire. It’s magic!

  3. J9 says:

    I tried something similar when you posted “Baked Eggs with Tomatoes.” My family does little more with eggs than add cheese or devil them, so a frittata is quite the experience. They loved it. I also forgot to tell you that, thanks to you, I make panzanella (tomato-bread salad) often. My family doesn’t quite understand homemade croutons as a salad base, but I love it so tough luck to them. *L*

    1. Misky says:

      I’m glad to hear that you’re having such great results with the family on these recipes. And good for you on the panzanella – it’s wonderfully delicious and a great way to use up bread. By the way, I love deviled eggs! 🙂

  4. Loving your scoring of Yum Factor !!

    1. Misky says:

      I should’ve been an Olympic games judge! 😀

  5. I’m catching up and missed that one.. I’m glad you’ve done it as well. Now I have two versions to try out, I love frittata.. especially for a late breakfast!

    1. Misky says:

      I love using up the last bits from the fridge, and make it into something special. Chameleon food!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

