In My Kitchen: October

on

Another month gone by. Where did summer go? It’s time for October’s segment of “In My Kitchen” where I show you a few things of interest.

I switched things around on my windowsill the other day, so I can show you one of my little (albeit odd) treasures. I collect Chinese brass opium weights. I started collecting these when I lived in Hong Kong. They’re a counter-balance measure of any object, obviously, and were China’s standardised method of weighing things for centuries until the British came along and tried to force change on an ancient system. These weights are in the form of birds, lions, and mythical creatures (dragons, etc). If they’re from Burma, they’re often cast in the form of elephants. There are also weights in the form of cobras, although these are usually not Chinese by origin. I’m still hunting for one of those. One day I’ll find one that’s authentic and not a modern reproduction. This weight is a lion, and it weighs 325 grams exactly. It’s about as tall as my thumb. He’s a beauty.

 

I also took some of my birthday money and bought myself this ginormous white serving tray. I love it. It has a nonslip surface, so even a klutz like me can’t spill stuff.

I also bought a 150cm long table runner, hand-woven and in brilliant, cheery colours. It should make the grey, dreary months of winter a bit happier. I hope.

And to help warm up my chilly bones during this month, I’ll be eating lots of noodle soup with a heavy hand on the chilli flakes. I love very spicy noodle soup.

I hope that everyone has a lovely October! To join the fun of In My Kitchen pop over to Celia’s Fig Jam and Lime Cordial blog at http://figjamandlimecordial.com/2012/10/01/in-my-kitchen-october-2012/

 

23 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh, how NICE to see you!! Thanks Misky! And I absolutely adore your lion weight (it looks like a dragon to me!) – what an interesting thing to collect! I’m sure your big serving tray will be very useful, and the soup looks divine.. xx

    1. Misky says:

      I’m in love with that tray; I’m using it all the time!

  2. Between those bright colors and your spicy noodles, it looks like you are well prepared for gloomy weather! Thanks for the peek into your kitchen.

    1. Misky says:

      And many thank for stopping by for read and leaving a comment. 🙂

  3. Glenda says:

    Hi Misky, I love your lion and your beautiful table runner. It will, most certainly, keep you cheery over winter.

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Glenda, and thanks for looking into my kitchen this month. 😀

  4. Oh I love your weight – wish I had a few of those and your beautiful bright table runner will surely keep the dreary winters days nice and sunny.
    🙂 Mandy

    1. Misky says:

      Anything to brighten up winter, Mandy! Thanks for stopping by for a read and leaving a comment. 🙂

  5. heidiannie says:

    Hi Misky-
    I love the weight as well- and I know how you feel about serving trays- I’m always happy to find a large tray that isn’t busy with a design!
    That soup looks so good- we just dipped into overnight freezing temps- and soup sounds perfect.
    Thanks- I always enjoy visiting in your kitchen.

    1. Misky says:

      So happy to see you again, Heidi, and thanks for leaving a comment.

  6. Tandy says:

    Lovely things in your kitchen this month 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Tandy.

  7. veggieval says:

    I love to see what is on people’s window sills! It’s our nearest and dearest. My also has “Plant ICU” on it, too! Haha!

  8. veggieval says:

    I love to see what is on people’s window sills! It’s our nearest and dearest. Mine also has “Plant ICU” on it, too! Haha!

    1. Misky says:

      I have a small basil plant on mine also, which is surprising me with its longevity! Thanks for stopping by for a read. 🙂

  9. What a very cool collection!! I’ve never heard of those weights! Love the photo of you best:D

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, that’s very sweet. I wasn’t sure about including that photo but thought … aaah what the heck. 😉

  10. Well hello there! A great collection in your kitchen this month. I love the serving tray and your soup. Yummy!

    1. Misky says:

      Hey there! Lovely to catch up with you again. 🙂 I am using that tray so often, I hardly know how I managed without it!

  11. Joanna says:

    I have table mats like your runner! I love those colours and the pic of you and your big tray and your weights, what lovely things you are sharing with us in your kitchen. Xx to you and the whelk and the periwinkle

    1. Misky says:

      The gang shouts a cheery and sunny “Salut!”

      We were at John Lewis last weekend, and I found another runner in pink and blue tones, which is also stunning. Bought two – the other for my mother-in-law to cheer her up. Surprise gifts are always so much fun. x.x.x.

  12. Love the bright colorful runner! Noodles look yummy!!

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Lyndsey, and thanks for stopping by for a read! 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

