Baked Eggs with Tomatoes

Rufus’s Baked Eggs with Tomatoes

bakedEggs1

This is an excellent dish to serve up for dinner with a crisp green salad and fresh bread. My husband was sceptical at first, accused it of being a quiche, but I don’t think that it is – no pastry shell for one thing. He was won over in the end; said it was delicious.

I’m not sure about the chemistry of eggs mixed with buttermilk, but as soon as the two were combined it turned into a custard consistency. Total nifty. If anyone knows why this happens, please shout!

I made a few substitutions, which in my opinion is the test of a good recipe – it works when your fridge dictates the ingredients. No mushrooms, so I substituted cubed leftover potatoes. No cayenne pepper, so I substituted 1 teaspoon dried flaked chilli. I tossed in some thinly sliced onions, and stirred some Romano cheese into the egg mixture before baking.

For the full recipe and the ingredient list, pop over to Rufus’s Food and Spirits Guide. Your tummy will thank you!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for trying it. Glad you overcame some objections and it worked out well. Love that side shot.

  2. Nice! I wonder why it is that baking eggs automatically makes them elegant and elevates them beyond breakfast food?

  3. ceciliag says:

    Very true that a good recipe is one that you can adapt to whatever is in the fridge.. this one sounds very tasty! c

  4. J9 says:

    Custardy is good! I can’t wait to try this.

    Your bread salad has been added to my regular recipe rotation. Last week I used a loaf of formerly-fresh-baked bread that was so hard it crumbled like old plaster when I sliced it. *L* It was perfect for the salad, though.

  5. I’m not sure why buttermilk does what it did.. but I’m glad it did:D This looks wonderful for one of my quiet evening dinners!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

