International Scone Week: Fanta Zero Scones

Yes, Minister, Fanta Zero Scones.

I was hoping they’d taste slightly of orange. They didn’t. But the good news is that they’re sugar-free for Mr Misk, passably pretty, although a bit on the dry side. I made these using Celia’s Lemonade Scones recipe, but replaced Fanta Zero Orange for the lemonade.

I have to say, they’re very edible. Not a single one left on the dish!

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Gerry Wilson says:

    Misky, I think your scones are a lot like what we in the South call biscuits. Am I right? These certainly *look* good!

    1. Misky says:

      Gerry, J9 has it right (thanks, J9!). These are light and airy with just a slight hint of sweetness. There are oodles of recipes for scones, some rich and heavy with butter, some flaky and sweet. These are nice because they don’t nudge Mr Misky’s glucose levels too sharply.

  2. Linda Vernon says:

    They look delicious! And with some homemade jam . . . mmm . . . I’m suddenly very hungry for scones! 😀

  3. They look lovely, as do your lemonade ones! Were they sweet enough with Fanta zero? Glad you’ve found a good recipe for Mr Misky.

    1. Misky says:

      They were sweet enough for us, but then we like our scones a bit on the savory side rather than sweet.

  4. I have to say, I’m not sure I ever would have thought to try diet orange soda in a scone, but this has got me intrigued!

    1. Misky says:

      I might try sparkling water next time!

  5. I love Celia’s lemonade scones!
    🙂 Mandy

    1. Misky says:

      Me, too! They’ll delcious.

  6. J9 says:

    Gerry, they’re similar to biscuits but with a lighter texture and a little sweetness. They still sit like a rock in your stomach if you eat too many, though.

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks for replying to Gerry. I’ve been busy with non-blog stuff lately (the new driveway, etc) and I’ve not be able to reply as quickly as I’d wish.

      1. J9 says:

        I hope I wasn’t being presumptuous. :o) I used to take my sister to high tea at a tea shop near her house, and the scones were to die for! They were always a little sweet, and always served with jam and what passes for Devon cream here in the States. Entirely too adictive for our own good. When the weather cools enough to bake again I’m going to try the lemonade scones.

        1. Misky says:

          No, no, not at all. I very pleased that you piped in and shared your experience. Thank you. 🙂

  7. Glenda says:

    My God, what will you lot think of next:) You are so adventurous. I am still trying to master ‘good old scones’.
    Have you seen Joanna’s Kombucha scones?

    1. Misky says:

      Yes, I have seen Joanna’s scones. Very interesting! I didn’t know what kombucha was, and I had to Google it. You learn something new every day!

  8. Tandy says:

    I don’t think they look mucked up at all 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      They’re just slightly dried than I’d hoped, and I think the sweetener did that.

  9. Thea says:

    I’m not sure what artificial sweetener is used in Fanta Zero, but Coca Cola commonly use 950 and 951 (acesulphame K and aspartame). Aspartame breaks down into its constituent amino acids when heated in the presence of water and acids, and so is no longer sweet, so it is unsuitable for use in baking. One of the breakdown products is methanol, which can undergo a further chemical reaction in the body to form formaldehyde. The amount present in soft drinks is very small, so the amount you would be exposed to in a scone would be very low, and probably not enough to worry about. This information is not meant to scare, but is just for your own knowledge. Please see this University of Queensland link (sorry, you have to dig through it to get the information) http://www.uq.edu.au/_School_Science_Lessons/topic19a.html

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you so very much, Thea, for this information. I will indeed check into what sweeteners are used for Zero products.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

