Tomato and Bread Salad

Tomato and Bread Salad

This is a beautiful salad with flavour to match. It’s summer in a bowl. Allow the dressing to dance with the tomatoes and peppers for about an hour; the flavour will thank you. Don’t add the croutons until the last minute because they will slurp up all the dressing and go mushy. Other than that, this recipe is totally adaptive to whatever you have in your fridge as the fried bread cubes (croutons) are the stars of this dish.

yellow1

Ingredients
2-3 tablespoons olive oil
Stale bread cut into thumbnail-size cubes
1 teaspoon coarse flaked salt
20 ripe cherry tomatoes, cut in half
1 red bell pepper, seeded and cut into 1-inch cubes
1 yellow bell pepper, seeded and cut into 1-inch cubes
1/2 red onion, cut into thin slices
a generous handful of fresh basil leaves, torn into pieces
finely chopped parsley

Vinaigrette
1 garlic clove crushed or grated
1 teaspoon finely chopped capers
1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
3 tablespoons white wine vinegar or fresh lemon juice
¼ cup olive oil
1/2 teaspoon coarse flaked salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

To make the croutons, heat 3 tablespoons of olive oil in a large frying pan until the oil begins to ‘visually’ ripple in the pan. Add the bread cubes, stirring or tossing often, sprinkle with the salt, and fry gently until just beginning to turn golden brown. Don’t let them scorch. Set aside on a plate with kitchen towel to cool.

To make the vinaigrette, add the ingredients in a jar and shake until mixed well. No jar? Whisk in a small bowl. Set aside.

Assemble the tomatoes, peppers, and onion in a large bowl with the basil. Toss with vinaigrette, but don’t add the croutons yet. Allow to sit for at least an hour as they absorb the flavour of the salad dressing. Just before serving, mix in the croutons. Don’t mix them in too early or they’ll go mushy in dressing.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh, my God, Misky! Do you really expect me to go to such extents to make a salad? LOL. It looks like a daunting undertaking, honestly speaking. Much harder than haiku writing, in fact 🙂
    I really plan to cook something you suggest on this blog, though. Just need to make up my mind, as usual in all things in life.

    1. Misky says:

      No, I don’t expect anything of anyone, but trust me, this really is easy. Chop, chop, chop, chop, fry some chopped up bread, shake, shake, shake dressing, pour, wait, eat. Easy, eh? 😀 Trust me, you’re one of these genius professor types – you can manage this!

  2. heidiannie says:

    This looks like LUNCH!
    Thanks for posting the recipe Misky.
    I’m looking forward to trying this today!

    1. Misky says:

      Delish. Truly. I hope you like it!

  3. dianadomino says:

    Oooh! Thank you! This is the one I was waiting for!

    Oh, and by the way, I tried straining the eggs last time I poached ’em and it worked beautifully! They came out perfect!

  4. J9 says:

    I have been racking my brain trying to remember where I saw a recipe for bread salad recently, and here it is! I plan on making it tonight. Wish me luck!

  5. Yummy, you make me yearn for the warmth of summer!

  6. There’s not much that a few fried croutons won’t improve, but this looks so good i bet it hardly needs the help. I’ve got a bowlful of tomatoes ready for blastoff.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

