In My Kitchen: August 2012

on

There’s not a lot happening in my kitchen this month. Mid-August sees us off to Denmark so I’m clearing out cupboards and the fridge. I’m also up to my armpits with builders for the next week who are replacing our tarmac driveway with a pretty brick one, building a curved pathway from the driveway to our front door, and then in September they’ll return to fit a new automatic garage door. They’ll remove the two old doors, shore up the support beam, and make just one large door.

So here are a few things that are in my kitchen, or what I’m looking at through my kitchen window.

aug_Bee

My little wooden bee whose wings twirl in the breeze when the kitchen window is open. My dad made this for me many years ago.

aug-Aprons

My collection of cotton kitchen aprons. I love aprons. I love red and white and pink and bees.

aug_driveway

What’s left of the driveway. Bricks due for delivery tomorrow.

To join in the fun of What’s In My Kitchen, just follow this link and read up on the details. http://figjamandlimecordial.com/2012/08/01/in-my-kitchen-august-2012/

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Glenda says:

    Hi Misky, it sound like a busy time for you. Enjoy your time in Denmark.
    BTW: The EYB widget all got too hard.

  2. muddykinzer says:

    Your soon-to-be brick driveway sounds so pretty!

  3. No matter what, there’s always something interesting in your kitchen, Misky! 🙂 Lovely bees! And have fun in Denmark! x

  4. Bees are so cute, aren’t they! I love aprons too. A dying art, apron wearing! Good trip.

  5. heidiannie says:

    I have a real collection of aprons.
    I like that one with bees.
    And I love your wind bee- so great to have something your father made you. My father fixed things- but he didn’t make them.
    What a treasure!

    1. Misky says:

      The bee apron is my newest one, and it fits the best. Sometimes it’s difficult to find one that really fits well! No gaps or puckering.

  6. Spoon Feast says:

    Your bees are adorable. Once all that work is done you will be so appreciative of the new look.
    Bizzy Lizzy is right, apron wearing is a dying art. But I do see more and more fun aprons in shops than a few years ago. Maybe it is not dying after all.

    1. Misky says:

      I love wearing my aprons. I often wear one all day long so my clothing stays clean. I can be a mess cook!

  7. Tandy says:

    Travel safely! I love your bee 🙂

  8. How exciting to have a new front driveway.. all bricked and pretty!! Every day when you come home it will welcome you! I love your apron collection.. I have a “thing” for aprons:) ❤

  9. Loving the wooden bee – a real treasure !

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

