In My Kitchen: July 2012

on

Where did June go? Oh yeah, now I remember – sort of – I was jetlagged through most of it. I love valid excuses. I so rarely have one to dish up when needed. So it’s July, and here’s what’s in my kitchen.

july1s

One mustard colour Le Creuset 23cm square baking dish, broken into about 20 pieces whilst in the safe and careful hands of Panasonic’s courier service. This was the surprise gift for buying my new microwave. Yes, it was a surprise all right.

july2s

And this is the free cookery book that was placed on top of my broken baking dish. It has some very interesting recipes in it, like microwave Hollandaise Sauce using half the usual amount of butter. At least the book was unbreakable. Panasonic, by the way, is sending out a replacement baking dish for the one that broke.

july3s

The ginger root has sprouted! Do I plant it in soil now?

july4s

I found this glazed Italian tile, about 18-inches square, in the garage. I’m thinking that I could use it as a pizza or bread stone in the oven. If I do, should I oil it before setting the bread dough on it?

july5s

I bought this bare-root lettuce plant at the supermarket. Brought it home, popped it into a pot with some water, and I’ve been picking leaves off it to pretty up salads for 2-weeks now. The plant cost £1, and it just keeps setting new leaves one after another after another.

july6s

I use a lot of horseradish. Not the sort in cream; this is the fresh grated sort. I add it to salad dressings for a kick, in tomato soup, in mustard-mayo spread, in gravy, in meatloaf … and so on. It’s my favourite go-to-secret ingredient.

july7s

My cousin made me this pen. He “turned” the wood by hand. The two white lines in the upper part of the pen are made from a cut-up credit card. It has an amazing feel in your hand when you use it. I love it!

To join in the fun just pop over to Celia’s “In My Kitchen”.

27 Comments Add yours

  1. underthebluegumtree says:

    Oh no, pity the poor Le Creuset. Hope they are sending you another one. I always sprinkle polenta on my pizza stone before I use it. Makes the pizza slide off easily and you get a nice crunchy bottom.

    1. Misky says:

      Yes, they’ll send me a replacement Le Creuset dish. As for my pretty tile, I’ve been warned off using it for baking because apparently there’s some question about the safety of glaze used. I’m not going to take a chance. 🙂

  2. dianadomino says:

    I was going to say the same thing. Sprinkle the stone with cornmeal and you’re set!

    1. Misky says:

      Carl, who I consider knows everything about everything, has warned me off using a glazed floor tile for baking purposes. Toxins in the glaze and possibly in the clay as well. Oh dear. Glad I didn’t use it!

  3. Misk, what interesting stuff in your kitchen this month! Annoying about the dish, but I’m glad Panasonic are sending you a replacement. I’m with Carl on not using the tile, though. And I can’t believe that lettuce is still growing in water! What’s it feeding on? Your cousin’s pen is a work of art.. x

    1. Misky says:

      Hi, Celia. I can’t believe it either (re lettuce), but I do give it a drop or two of plant food when I top up the water. Not sure how long it will continue on though. Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. 😀

  4. Good that you’re getting a replacement dish! So disappointing when things arrive broken! I have used terracotta tiles, without glaze, for making pizza, quite successfully and without being poisoned. I learned that from a chef who taught at my cooking school. They were ordinary terracotta.

    1. Misky says:

      One day I’ll buy myself a proper pizza/bread stone but no rush as I have enough pans, etc., now.

  5. heidi says:

    I think it is better to err on the side of food safety. People had been baking in cakes and breads in clay pots- but they also make clay pots just for baking that are safe and without any unintentional toxins.
    I love the hydroponic lettuces- they grow from sunshine and water- and are wonderful!
    My brother also makes me pens turned on the lathe- but i didn’t know about the credit card connection. Very pretty!
    I grind my own horseradish and then temper the flavor wiith white balsamic vinegar. It is so fresh and delicious- definitely a secret ingredient!
    Good post- your kitchen is full of goodness!

    1. Misky says:

      I wonder how long this lettuce will last? It must surely have a ‘shelf-life’, where it chucks it in and gives up growing!

  6. Glenda says:

    Hi Misky. I have always used unglazed tiles for my baking, so I agree with the consensus. I am glad you are getting a replacement dish because they are great. I have one exactly the same (except blue). You will use it heaps. I don’t know about the ginger. It might be a bit cold where you live to grow ginger. I will be interested to know how you go.

    1. Misky says:

      The ginger might need indoor growing conditions. I’ll wait to see. Maybe read up on it again. Thanks for stopping by for a read! 😀

  7. Tandy says:

    I just love what is in your kitchen this month, especially the horseradish! I can eat it plain 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you, Tandy! I love horseradish, too. Plain, and hot enough to make the roots of your hair to wiggle!

  8. MIsk, what interesting things in your kitchen this month.
    The ginger is ready to cut into sections and plant!
    Somewhere sheltered and warm if possible, the leaves will go yellow and die off in the cold weather and reappear again when the weather warms up.

    1. Misky says:

      But I live in England, where it’s often cold. Don’t you think that I should grow it in a pot indoors?

      1. Yes indoors, not too close to the heater……do you have a sunny window? Their a tropical plant…like warmth and humidity.

        1. Misky says:

          Yes, I should be able to find a spot that it likes. Thanks!

  9. ceciliag says:

    the lettuce looks great, i am growing horse radish this year! and that pen.. wow.. you know the old codger made pens too out of wood. Aren’t these people clever.. c

    1. Misky says:

      Did you pop your horseradish into a pot? It spreads like wildfire! Clever Dale! I love my pen; it’s one of my real treasures.

      1. ceciliag says:

        oops.. no i did not put it in a pot!! and we have about 8 plants.. oh dear, lots of horseradish for us!! I hope it survives our winter.. and poor you having a migraine, hope you are feeling better! c

  10. That pen is beautiful Misk, so darn clever.
    As for the ginger, how on earth did get it to sprout? Mine always just shrivels up.

    1. Misky says:

      I set it in a bowl in the kitchen and mistakenly forgot about it. I’d meant to do as others suggested last month but forgot. June was a busy month for me. It just did it on its own like magic!!

  11. Thanks for visiting me and the comment. I LOVE the pen your cousin made for you. 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      If you’d like to read my Wordle response, it’s at http://miskmask.wordpress.com Thank you so much for stopping by Misk Cooks. I love that pen also. He made me one from olive wood from Jerusalem also that I really treasure.

  12. The horseradish looks really interesting. I’ve never had fresh, only the cream variety. In fact I don’t think I’ve ever seen in my green grocer. Will have to look harder !!! Thanks for sharing.

    1. Misky says:

      I buy it at Sainsbury’s and Waitrose. Both stock it regularly. 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

