Broccoli Salad

on

I’m going to call this broccoli salad “Rescue Me From My Brazier Kitchen, Khione.” Khione is the Greek god of snow and winter. Well, one can dream, right? It’s late-June, it’s 28-degrees Celsius, my kitchen window faces due southeast, and it’s 35-degrees under the shade of my cooker’s extractor fan. And what I’d like to know is who put that thermometer in my kitchen! I don’t need it; I know what hot feels like!

broccoliSalad_28June12

So when lunchtime rolled around today, the thought of stepping into that overheated brazier was not inviting, but I needed something to eat — something cold and quick and easy and nutritious. I raided the fridge, and then dashed outside to make myself lunch under the shade of an oak tree. Perfect. And so is this salad: cold, crunchy, full of goodness, colourful, and delicious flavour.

Broccoli Salad

Ingredients

  • 1 head broccoli
  • Shredded lettuce
  • 6 slices cooked bacon, crumbled
  • ½ cup chopped red onion
  • ½ cup dried cherries, cranberries or raisins, optional
  • ½ cup sharp Cheddar, cut into very small chunks
  • ½ cup low-fat garlic mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon sugar (optional)
  • 1 cup halved cherry tomatoes
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions

Cut the head of the broccoli into small flowerets and the tender stems into bite-size slivers. Place in a large bowl. Add the shredded lettuce, crumbled bacon, onion, dried fruit, and cheese. In a small bowl, combine the garlic mayonnaise, mustard, optional sugar, and mix. Then add the lemon juice, stirring well until smooth. If you can’t find garlic mayo, use regular mayo and grate one garlic clove into it – stir well until it’s smooth. Add to broccoli mixture to the salad dressing, toss gently, and then stir through the halved tomatoes. Serve very cold.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Gerry Wilson says:

    Misky, this salad looks so good, and quite healthy (except maybe for the bacon; hubby and I might need to leave that out). Here in Mississippi, it’s going to be over 100 degrees today and for the next several days. I’m with you about staying out of the hot kitchen as much as possible. Will give this a try. Thanks for sharing.

    1. Misky says:

      I don’t cope with heat well, Gerry, and sleeping is also a misery when it’s hot. This salad sure cooled me down at lunchtime though!

  2. bizzylizzycooks says:

    Sounds delicious! We are in the middle of winter down under and my home heating died a week ago, so would gladly swap places with you! Happy cooking ; )

    1. Misky says:

      Oh my – I hope that you’re not too cold without your heating!

  3. I like that you added sharp cheddar, garlic and Dijion mustard. Very healthy salad.

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks! Very yummy. 😀

  4. dianadomino says:

    Just want to mention that it is about 44 C here in Arizona today. ^_^ (Thank Khione for AC, right!) ^_^

    1. Misky says:

      That’s ridiculously hot, Diana! The problem I have is that one day it’s very hot and extremely humid, and the next it’s cool and cloudy again. You never acclimate to temperatures because they change so often. Today’s high shouldn’t rise above mid-60sF.

      1. dianadomino says:

        Today will be 111, tomorrow 115. 😛 There is no acclimatization to this. Just staying inside…And swimming in the pool late at night. ^_^

  5. I’ll have what you’re having.. the heat and the salad! I love this one!

    1. Misky says:

      Really hit the spot yesterday. I think I remember something about brocolli having “cooling” effects on the body.

      1. Isn’t that interesting, I’m sure it could. Spices have the opposite effect, so why not?

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

