Dan Lepard’s Queen’s Gingerbread Panforte

Dan Lepard’s “Queen’s Gingerbread”

gingerbread_22June12

This slab of dense, highly spiced gingerbread is a panforte of sorts, although for authenticity it needs 17 different ingredients to signify the 17 district city walls of Siena, Italy, where panforte originated in the 13th century (thank you Wiki).

Traditionally a panforte has spices, dried fruits, nuts, honey and sugar, mixed into flour and baked in a shallow pan. Dan’s recipe has the edge on the Siena version because of its rich spices that combine all the holidays I’ve ever been on, plus a wave of warmth that kisses your throat as you eat it. Forget about holidays in warm, sunny destinations where nutmeg, cinnamon and ginger grow wild. I’m going to stay home this year, and have a holiday romance with Dan’s “Queen’s Gingerbread”.

A few notes:

1. The almonds not only add flavour but make the top of the slab look rustically gorgeous. Don’t omit them.
2. The texture is slightly squidgy but this improves on the second day.
3. You must allow it to completely cool in the pan before cutting it. It’s squidgy, remember?
4. This is not gingerbread like a biscuit or cake or gingerbread house. This is a panforte.
5. The cut squares freeze very well and a thaw nicely.

Have a go at this recipe. You won’t be sorry that you tried something new. It’s delicious. You’ll find the recipe at the Guardian’s website with the How to Bake series.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2012/jun/01/cakes-baking-for-queen

28 Comments Add yours

  1. My goodness, that looks superb, Misky. I’m going to check out the recipe now, thank you!

    1. Misky says:

      These really freeze well, too, Celia. I cut mine in small squares, and they thaw in very little time. Nice little treat after dinner!

  2. becca givens says:

    The recipe looks delicious — but alas, I will have to convert it from metric!! 😀

    1. Misky says:

      There are several sites around that will convert metric to American measure, so I hope that you’re able to try this recipe. They’re very very very good!

      Have you tried using http://www.traditionaloven.com/conversions_of_measures/butter_converter.html for converting measure? On the right-hand side of that page are ingredients that can be converted (butter, flour, etc).

      1. becca givens says:

        Thank you, I will copy and paste the recipe to a document for saving and convert it!! YUMMMM in store for my taste buds!! 😀

      2. becca givens says:

        Mixsy — what are the characteristics for “runny honey”? I figured treacle is about what our molasses would be, but is runny honey actually like bee’s honey or corn syrup (thick but without much taste)? Thank you!

        1. Misky says:

          Becca, runny honey is the squeezable sort, like the kind you can buy in the plastic squeezie bear. Do they still make him? 🙂

          1. becca givens says:

            They sure do!! 😀 Thanks!! List for the store made … have everything but the glace ginger — may be the wrong time of the year to find it, but I am on the hunt!! 🙂

            1. Misky says:

              If you can’t find the glacé ginger, don’t let it stop you making this recipe. It’s plenty heady (spicy) without the extra kick. 🙂 It will just be a bit denser Dan Lepard intended it. Please note, Becca, that this isn’t a cake or a bread. It’s a squidgy, very dense, moist panforte — sort of like what you might consider a moist ‘bar’. The top and bottom are firm but the middle is soft.

              I think I’ll thaw a couple of them; I’ve given myself the munchies!

              1. becca givens says:

                With a nice hot cup of tea!! 😀 Wish I could whip up my wand for immediate gratification and join you!!

                1. Misky says:

                  😀 Can’t wait to hear how much you’re besotted with these. I sure am!

  3. Joanna says:

    What a beautiful photo 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you. Taken with my little ol’ Panasonic point and shoot. Darned good little camera. The gingerbread’s not half bad either. 😀

  4. Found your blog through Tandy’s website. Love your recipes!

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you so very much, and a warm welcome to you! I’ll have to thank Tandy! 😀

  5. This looks gorgeous! I love the texture.

    1. Misky says:

      This one is defo suitable for the Queen!

  6. Thank you Misk and thank you Dan.
    I’m very much done with chocolate cake and would like to make something just for me, me, me… well and anyone else who like some. This looks looooovvely.

    1. Misky says:

      ’tis quite delish! The hard bit is waiting until it’s fully and totally cooled in the pan.

  7. This looks delicious!

    1. Misky says:

      They are, Ioanna! Totally delicious. 🙂

  8. Will says:

    Bravo, Misky, they look perfect! Consider this recipe duly added to my to-bake list.

    1. Misky says:

      You won’t be disappointed, Will. They’re easy and very tasty. The hard bit is waiting until they’ve cooled in the pan!

  9. Misk, This Queen’s Gingerbread looks absolutely delightful! Scrumptious! I’m growing to appreciate your cooking side! Totally love your blog here. It’s so visually pleasing. Love all of your photos, colors and theme.

    PS Thanks for the follow.
    🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you for the lovely compliments, Benjamin, and a warm welcome to you! I thoroughly enjoy your poetry, and recommend it to friends here, so the ‘follow’ is entirely my pleasure. 🙂

  10. Muddy Kinzer says:

    This looks divine…I love gingerbread!

    1. Misky says:

      It’s totally delish!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

