How to Make Black Pepper Gravy

Authentic black pepper gravy should be peppery hot on the tongue but shy of meaty flavour. It’s also the colour of bed sheets that need a generous dose of bleach and a good boil. Personally, I like gravy to be brown meat colour, not the colour of unbleached linen. Add bouillon and gravy browning until you get result you want. That’s cooking for you in a nutshell: follow a recipe and then change the result to suit your taste and visual preference.

No pretty photos of sauce for this post: try as I might, they all looked like peppered wallpaper paste. This one is a stock from flickr.

traditionalgravy

Black Pepper Gravy

4 tablespoon fat from frying meat, margarine, or butter
4 tablespoons plain (all purpose) flour
500 ml (2 cups) milk
1 teaspoon concentrated meat stock bouillon *
4 teaspoons coarsely ground pepper
Salt to taste

Heat the pan drippings (or marg/butter) in a pan over medium heat and stir in the flour and all of the pepper. Stirring frequently, cook until it forms a soft, smooth and lightly browned paste. Add the milk very gradually at first, stirring after each addition until absorbed into the paste, also called a roux. Continue adding the liquid a splash at a time, stirring until it comes to a boil. Taste, and if the sauce resembles the flavour of white school glue more than gravy, add the meat stock bouillon. Season with salt and simmer on low heat, stirring frequently, for 5 minutes. Makes about 2 cups.

* Liquid concentrate bouillon is the easiest to use

7 Comments Add yours

  1. muddykinzer says:

    I loved this, especially your description of the color it’s supposed to be! LOL! I like that you put something basic on here for us novice cooks, especially something like this because a good gravy is hard to find. I can’t wait to try it!

    1. Misky says:

      Let me know how you get on with it. 🙂

  2. margo roby says:

    I know. How on earth… this was one of the three posts wordpress suggested I look at to discover whether you are a subversive following me. I look at anything that says black pepper gravy.

  3. Michelle says:

    I made this today for my husband and I. We used veggie bouillon because we don’t eat meat. But it was really good. That much pepper made it hard for me to eat because it burned my mouth so much. Haha. I’ll be making it again, but with half the pepper. My husband devoured this up. He loves hot things!!!!!

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Michelle! I’m very pleased that you returned to give your feed-back on this recipe. Pity that it was too spicy for your taste, but perhaps next time you can split the quantity, one part with less pepper for you and the other part with more pepper for your husband. That way you can both enjoy some Black Pepper Gravy. 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

