Grilled Tuna Salad Sandwich with Lime Mayo

Dear John,

Ready to kill off a few more tins of tuna? This is a really easy way of making an ordinary tuna sandwich just a bit special. In addition to the usual necessities of a tuna sandwich, you’ll need one ripe lime and some fresh chives. Dill works, too, but personally I’m not keen; it reminds me too much of weeds that I pull from the flower borders.

tunaLimeMayo

Grilled Tuna Salad Sandwich with Fresh Lime Mayo

Flake the drained tuna into a medium bowl. I find that 2 tins of tuna makes about 3 generous sandwiches. Chop a fistful of fresh chives*, and toss them with the tuna.

In small bowl, add one rounded dessertspoon of Light Mayo** (or regular), and give it a light stir. Juice half of the lime into the mayo, and stir well until glossy and light in texture. Taste to be sure it has a wee tart edge of flavour.

Now toss the lime-mayo lightly with the tuna and chives. Don’t over-mix or the tuna will fall apart and turn to a stringy mucky mass. Set aside in the fridge for about 30-minutes so the flavours can develop, unless you’re hungry, in which case just skip that part.

Spoon the mixture evenly between enough slices of bread to make 2-3 sandwiches. Press slightly but don’t compress the tuna – that can cause the bread to go soggy. Eeeoow. You simply want to the filling level.

Now spread a very, very thin layer of mayo across the top and bottom of each sandwich, and place it in a frying pan that’s preheated over low or medium-low heat. Fry the sandwich on one side for about 30-seconds, check the colour, and when it’s golden brown, turn the sandwich over to fry the other side. Keep an eye on the colour because it can scorch and burn quickly if not watched. Don’t turn your back on the pan!

Cut and serve while warm with a green salad. Bon appetit!

* Chives freeze well, so chop them all up, use what you need now and freeze the rest. Wrap them up in cling film tightly, and toss into the freezer. They thaw instantly, so you could even add them to your next tuna mixture frozen – just stir them in. Voilà.

** A very thin spread of low-fat margarine also work okay.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. K. McGee says:

    This looks delicious! Now I know what I’m having for lunch. 😉

    1. Misky says:

      Did you try it? Did you like it?

      1. K. McGee says:

        Yes! OMG it was yummy. I used solid white albacore tuna, but had to use reconstituted lime juice, (I had no fresh limes. 😦 ) I skipped the dill too.

        1. Misky says:

          I’m DELIGHTED!! Not to worry about reconstituted juice. When mixed with tuna, you’d be hard-pressed to tell the diff. 😀

  2. Karen says:

    I’ve never thought of using mayo instead of buttering the bread for a grilled sandwich. I look the look and sound of your sandwich.

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Karen, and it is very tasty. 😀

  3. I love it!! I, too, never thought of grilling a sandwich this way and the piquant lime would hit the spot with tuna! Excellent! xo Smidge

    1. Misky says:

      If you try it, let me know how you get on. 😀

  4. Tandy says:

    The lime sounds like a great addition 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Very tasty – Mr Misk said so. 😀 Received my DVD today. Thanks!! Looking forward to viewing it tonight.

  5. Writerlious says:

    I want your tuna sandwich. Nom, nom, nom…

    1. Misky says:

      Hold the phone … I’ll make you one. 😀

  6. obermoeller says:

    This really sounds yummy and I’ll have to try it next time I’m doing something with tuna.

    1. Misky says:

      Excellent, and welcome! Let me know how you get on with it. It’s yummy!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

