June: In My Kitchen

It’s the beginning of June, which means that it’s Celia’s In My Kitchen time again. I have a few items that I’ve collected from my holiday in Hawaii whilst playing with my grandchildren, plus one unexpected purchase that’s my new toy. So, ready? Here we go!

coralStones

Stones: My little pile of treasured stones and objects is growing. It now has a few pieces of coral that I collected on the beach in Hawaii.

woodenBowls

Bowls: I’ve been searching for small, shallow wooden bowls to hold course salt and pepper for a long time. Like several years of looking. I found them at a street fair in Waikiki Market. I bought several to use on the table, too.
JohnBdayCake

Cake: Here’s the last piece of my son’s birthday cake. It’s low in sugar and fat, using reduced-sugar jam between the layers and a dollop of low-fat cream on top. It is after a birthday!
gingerRoot

Ginger: Does anyone know how to root and grow ginger? Can I do it from this chunk?

microwaveOvenGaazooks-a-Microwave: And last but not least, my new lovely microwave-grill-convection oven. We went to the mall for a new watch battery, and ended up buying a new microwave oven. I also bought the watch battery. I’ve always wanted one of these, my mother-in-law has one, and now I do, too. I’m having great fun with it. Grilled cheese on sourdough this afternoon for a snack. It’s faster than the oven grill, and I love it. It makes Mr Misky’s oatmeal in the morning without a whimper also. And not only that – I get a free baking dish with it and a 200-page cookery book by mailing in a copy of my invoice with the redemption coupon. Woohoo! Oh, and it tells the time, which is handy when my watch battery goes dead again next year.

Come join the fun of June’s In My Kitchen, posting a link-back from your blog post to Fig Jam and Lime Cordial’s “In My Kitchen”.

43 Comments Add yours

  1. ceciliag says:

    I love your wee collection of beach combing loot! And those wooden bowls are a real find! How lovely to finally get the oven you have always wanted.. take care misky! c

    1. Misky says:

      There’s one stone in that collection that I picked up 33 years ago on my honeymoon. Each one has a special memory attached to it. I’m a bit of a sentimental slob. 🙂

  2. Glenda says:

    Misky, I hate to tell you this but … its not the beginning of June, anymore:)

    Your wooden bowls look delightful – I like to buy something little from every holiday, just to remind me ….

    1. Misky says:

      I like to buy something also, but often I can’t find anything useful to bring back. I managed it this time!

  3. Ooh, what treasures you have this month! I have a bowl of beach shells and coral that I have collected too – great minds…
    I also have similar wooden bowls in the cupboard, think I should bring them out again, thanks for the reminder.
    🙂 Mandy

    1. Misky says:

      I love those little bowls. They are so handy for so many different things! 😀 Thanks for visiting, and looking forward to seeing you again soon.

  4. Misky, I love those little bowls too, and isn’t it just wonderful when you finally – FINALLY – get your hands on something you’ve been looking for for ages? We’ve just bought a new microwave too – ours died last week. No grill on ours though! Thanks for sharing your wonderful kitchen with us! 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      I was quite simply over-flowing with glee when I found those bowls. I think my enthusiasm embarrassed the family. 😀

  5. Those bowls look like they’d feel good in the palm of your hands. I love this monthly glimpse into your kitchen.

    1. Misky says:

      I love wooden objects, and these bowls are slightly warm to the touch. Well maybe that’s because they sit in the south-facing windowsill. LOL!

  6. I used to collect stones and shells, as my parents always had land at the coast, so we travelled to the seaside on a weekly basis. Not sure about the ginger, there are some tips here http://www.burkesbackyard.com.au/factsheets/Food-Health-and-Nutrition/2UE-turmeric-and-ginger-tips/6050 Happy cooking!

    1. Misky says:

      I might have trouble growing it, Lizzy, because that article says you need warm and moist growing conditions. That’s not England by any stretch of the imagination. The recipe for fish curry on that page looks good though!! Yum!

  7. Carmen says:

    Misk, I love your little pile of treasured stone. A lovely reminder of happy times.

    Yes, the ginger will grow from that piece, if it has little bud or node on it even better. Can be suspended over a glass of water to root or planted into a pot of soil. I usually keep my ginger in a jar of dry sherry, keeps it for a long time, but if I forget and leave it in the vegetable drawer that it has either shrivelled up or has produced a shoot.

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Carmen, and welcome! I love interesting little stones; they’re gorgeous. Some in that pile are pretty enough to be strung as beads. Many thanks for the tip on growing ginger. I love the idea of keeping it in sherry, but can you still grate it after it’s sat in liquid?

      1. Carmen says:

        Misk, the ginger stays quite firm and can be still be grated. I peel it first and cut it into large pieces.

        1. Misky says:

          I’m going to try this! Thanks, Carmen. 🙂

  8. heidiannie says:

    I have some of those bowls!
    I love them- in fact, I bought several dozen when we were in Hawaii and I brought them home with the leis I had dried and some bark from a rainbow tree and then I made potpourri and filled the little bowls with it!
    It made a great gift to give to the ladies in my Bible study.
    I love your stones- I collect them too- sentimental is the word!

    1. Misky says:

      I wish I’d bought more of those bowls, but since my eldest son lives in Hawaii, there’s a chance that I can pursuade him to send a me more. 😉 Ah yes, sentimental — good word for it.

      I was thinking about you the other day, and hoping that you were doing well, feeling better. I hope so.

  9. Tandy says:

    I also spent years looking for small wooden bowls! Read up on ginger on my blog for how to plant it. Enjoy your oven! Since we got ours I’ve not used our big one 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Now that we’ve found our bowls, what shall we look for??!!

      I’ll look up ginger on your blog, and thanks, Tandy! Do you have any microwave-specific recipes on your blog?

      1. Tandy says:

        no I don’t, but I have a whole recipe book I’ve never used!

        1. Misky says:

          LOL! Maybe I need to start a new section on learning microwave cookery!

          1. Tandy says:

            a great idea!

            1. Misky says:

              I’m not very proficient with the microwave, and there must be others who are equally “Dooh!” about it, too.

              1. Tandy says:

                I will dig out the recipe book!

  10. Great collection of beach items, your bowls and oven. I would follow some of the comments you have for growing ginger plant. Just make sure you have good fertilized soil where you grow it. Its a very healthy ingredients for cooking…Good luck…

    1. Misky says:

      Welcome and thanks for stopping by for a reading and comment. I find that ginger is always helpful when my head is stuffed with a cold. Opens everything right up!

  11. Jeanette says:

    This seems interesting for growing ginger:
    http://www.tropicalpermaculture.com/growing-ginger.html

  12. Good website explaining how to grow ginger

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you for both of those links. I couldn’t find the ginger ref on your pinterest board though.

  13. What a delightful collection of wooden bowls and shells.
    I usually grow ginger in a terracotta pot under an outside tap where everyone washes their hands in the garden……..the plants come from me leaving the ginger in the fruit bowl too long, they start to sprout fat eyes a bit ike potatoes.
    I think the nicest ginger is in autumn when you first dig them up and they are so juicy and a beautiful translucent pink colour before they develop their harder skin.

    1. Misky says:

      Hello, and a warm welcome! I just spent some enjoyable time reading through your “Wildwood” blog. 🙂 I’ve had mine potted up for about 2-weeks but nothing yet is happening. I’m resisting the urge to dig it up and check for root structure. My neighbour told me that I should just give it up and buy ginger at the supermarket. She has no sense of adventure. 😀

  14. Hello Misky,
    Your ginger plant should start to sprout a pair of bright green leaves, resist the temptation to peek, wait until they appear.
    I managed to get my address somehow linked to wildwood…….not me I’m afraid!
    Do you know how to un-link (if there’s such a word) us?
    Elaine.

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Elaine, Try posting a reply to the comment, and while you’re typing in the Comment form box, look below. You should see 3 fields: your email address, your name, and the URL associated with your ‘clickable’ name link. Change that URL address (the 3rd field at the bottom). You’ll have to actually come to my blog to do it rather than in the fancy little comment box notification do-hah at the top right of the page. Did that sort it out for you?

    2. Hello Misky,
      Thank-you for your help

      1. Misky says:

        You’re entirely welcome. 😀

      2. Misky says:

        Your URL is missing something (like dot com or wordpress dot com). As it is, it doesn’t work.

  15. I make wooden bowls. It’s so good that people like them. I use wooden plates to serve food and they have a great feel, much nicer than ceramic. In the kitchen they may get dirty though. There is information on refinishing wooden bowls on my web site at http://www.turnedwoodenbowls.com

    1. Misky says:

      Hi, Terry, and welcome! You have a very interesting site. I rather fancy that 13.5cm ash bowl. Very pretty. 🙂

  16. Thanks! That’s the one with the bark inclusion ‘smile’ if I remember right. I like that too.

  17. muddykinzer says:

    This looks really fun, and you’re a beautiful photographer!

    1. Misky says:

      It is fun! Hope you’ll join it. Celia has just posted the July issue of In My Kitchen. Her link is at http://figjamandlimecordial.com/2012/07/01/in-my-kitchen-july-2012/ Hope to see you there!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

