Chocolate Cake Tricks

on

Birthdays call for special cakes, but when one family member has diabetes then the special birthday cake needs to be extra special. It has to be low in fat and very low in sugar, but it still has to taste and tooth-feel like a proper cake. Nigella’s Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake is the recipe that I use because it’s very easy to make straight swaps from high-fat butter or sugary ingredients for reduced fats and sweeteners. Here’s the link for Nigella’s chocolate cake recipe.

I use reduced-fat baking margarine and Half Spoon sugar replacement in this recipe. And since icing is a no-no, here’s where the tricks come into their own.

Here are my tricks for finishing off a chocolate cake that’s diabetic-friendly and flavourful.

  • Melt 1/4 cup of sugar-free or reduced-sugar raspberry or apricot jam in the microwave until shiny, wobbly and fluid. Spoon and spread the hot jam across the top of the lower cake layer, then set the top layer on the jammy layer, and allow to cool and set. You can also use melted jam on the top of the cake.
  • Grate 80% dark chocolate over the top layer of cake while it’s still hot straight out of the pan. The heat from the cake will melt the grated chocolate, which will cool to hardened layer.
  • Add grated dark chocolate to the melted jam for an extra kick of flavour. It’s very tasty when using raspberry jam.
  • Add a small dollop of reduced-fat whipped cream when serving the cake. I sweeten it with a drop of vanilla and agave syrup.

It is possible for a diabetic to enjoy a bit of chocolate cake on a special occasion!

What is your favourite birthday cake to make: chocolate, a white cake and silky icing?

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Will says:

    Someone’s lucky to have a such a creative baker on board!

    Have you ever tried using beetroot to sweeten a cake? I’ve eaten such cakes, and they ‘re surprisingly unbeetrooty! Worth a look I’d say 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Will! My hubby is well worth being creative! I’ve never tried making a cake using beetroot as a sweetener. I’ll check to see if it’s suitable for diabetics. Can’t have Mr Misky’s blood sugar levels going all wonky! 😀 Thanks for the suggestion.

  2. Tandy says:

    I always add melted chocolate to my cakes, so I think it is time I start experimenting!

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Tandy, Do you mean as icing or in the cake batter?

      1. Tandy says:

        sorry, for the icing!

        1. Misky says:

          You’re only the 3nd person that I’ve encountered who does that! You, me and my mother-in-law. My father-in-law is diabetic (it’s genetic), and she melts 80% dark chocolate on her cakes also.

          1. Tandy says:

            I use Canderel Chocolate as I should not really be eating sugar 🙂 But sugar free jam sounds like a good idea and I am heading home to bake 🙂

            1. Misky says:

              Have fun! I baked yesterday. Today is writing day. 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

