Pineapple and Prawn Salad

When I was on holiday in Hawaii, we went to the Dole Plantation. We packed up the kids, popped them into strollers with snacks and bottles of water, and off we went with the promise of a train trip. Emma was dressed in coordinated shades of pink; she was ready. Ethan was watching Micky Mouse YouTube videos on his mother’s iPhone; he was happy. Mr Misk and I were excited to see fields of pineapple. It wasn’t exactly what I’d hoped for but it wasn’t a total washout either (even though it frequently chucked down rain). The children enjoyed it, and we adults enjoyed it. We even squished a few pennies in the squish-a-penny for 50 cents souvenir machine. I happily avoided buying any tat from the shop. That made Mr Misk happy. Apparently I should have bought some frozen pineapple yogurt though. Didn’t know about that until after the fact. My jet-lag is much too severe to consider returning immediately for a bowl of frozen pineapple yogurt though.

EmmaEthanPineappleField

[Emma, Ethan, and the Dole Plantation’s pineapple fields]

Pineapples

Yep, those are pineapples. Even the red ones, which are wild pineapple varieties. The flesh is the usual yellow colour though.

I miss my grandchildren terribly. We’re Skyping on Sunday morning because Emma wants to speak with Nan (that’s me), and Ethan asked this morning “Where Farfar go?” (Farfar is grandpa in Danish). We are all back to our routines, and I’m back to mine, too, which means I’m blogging food again. When you return home from holiday, do you try to recreate favourite meals that you’ve enjoyed? I love culinary holidays!

Today, I discovered two things: 1) a group of cats is called a clowder, and 2) this is one of the most delicious, low-calorie, super-healthy, remind-me-of-Hawaii salad I’ve ever tasted. I’ve also made it with chunks of avocado which is a winner, too. I don’t suggest that you feed it to a clowder though; save it for yourself. It’s delish.

 prawnPineappleSalad1

Pineapple and Prawn Salad

For the Salad:
1 pineapple, cored, prepared, cut into chunks (approx 350g)
140g bean sprouts or pea shoots
250g cooked large prawns (peeled)
Cucumber, peeled, deseeded and cut into chunks
A handful Plum or Cherry tomatoes, halved or quartered
A handful fresh mint leaves, very roughly chopped
A handful unsalted cashews or peanuts , chopped and toasted
A handful of pomegranate seeds
Sliced fresh limes (rolled on hard surface to release more juice)

For the Dressing:
1 red chilli , deseeded and finely chopped (or 1 tsp dried flake chilli)
1 garlic clove, grated or crushed
1 tsp agave syrup or honey
Juice of 2 limes
1½ tsp fish sauce (optional but good)

Method:
In a small glass or plastic bowl (not metal), mix together the finely chopped red chilli with the grated garlic, mix and mash together with a fork. This can also be done with a mortar and pestle. Add the honey, lime juice and fish sauce, and mix well. Set aside.

Peel, core, quarter and cut the pineapple into chunks. If fresh pineapple isn’t available, buy tinned pineapple chunks in natural juice. In a mixing bowl, toss half of the salad dressing with the prawns, cucumber chunks, tomato and pea shoots and chopped mint. Divide equally between salad plates, and scatter with the chopped nuts and pomegranate seeds. Drizzle more dressing on top of each salad, and garnish with the lime slices.

15 Comments Add yours

  1. A fun family trip and what a fantastic salad. Hmm, wonder if my 3 cats quality as a clowder.
    🙂 Mandy

    1. Misky says:

      I think 3 kitties should qualify as a clowder! Not sure if it really does though. 😉

  2. I’m copying this one out.. I love a new salad recipe.. and the pineapple.. so scrumptious!! I’ve been away and didn’t realized you’d gone as well. I know you must miss your grandkids.. xo Smidge

    1. Misky says:

      I’m making this one as a starter for my son’s birthday dinner tomorrow. Besides the ingredients listed, I’m also going to toss in some fresh mango. I’ll also mention that lime works 200% better than lemon juice, too. I tried it with lemon, and it wasn’t nearly as good. The limes have it!

  3. Karen says:

    What a lovely looking salad…very tropical.

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Karen!

  4. Tandy says:

    This looks so bright and tasty 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      It is, Tandy, and it’s easy to swap and change ingredients according to what’s available in the supermarket! Pineapple and prawns are the base, and squeezed lime the dressing.

  5. What beautiful grandbabies you have, Misky! 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you, Celia. I think so, too. I love them to bits. 😀

  6. Glenda says:

    Misky, where did you get your pomegranates from? Isn’t it the wrong time of the year for you? I still have one bucket left from my haul.

    1. Misky says:

      Pomegranates don’t grow in the UK, Glenda, so if I kept to only locally grown produce I’d be eating tatties, nips, frozen peas and carrots, and a few strawberries! Very little that we eat in the UK actually comes from the UK — most comes from Spain and north Africa.

  7. What a beautiful looking salad Misk. It has Hawaii written all over it.
    (and sweet little grandkids, no wonder you miss them to bits.)

    1. Misky says:

      We all did the Skype thing on Sunday, and that helps to ease my heart. I do surely miss them though.

  8. muddykinzer says:

    Loved reading about your visit to the Dole Pineapple Plantation!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

