How To Insert AddThis Icons to Your Blog

I prepared this file for Celi at The Kitchens Garden. The instructions on the AddThis website weren’t entirely easy to follow, and this should make the process more understandable.

This is a step-by-step picture tutorial on how to add AddThis sharing buttons to your blog pages.

How To Insert AddThis Sharing Buttons.docx

21 Comments Add yours

  1. ceciliag says:

    There it is, this worked like a charm for me and thank you for the shout out! Fun all round today and i still have not taken tomorrows photographs..better get on that! c

  2. Tandy says:

    my playbook is not being nice! I liked this post on it this morning but it does not show that – I wonder how many other posts are missing my comments and likes? I have been visiting every day 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Such is the nature of gadgets! My favourite laptop has packed-up. I’ll try to resuscitate it when I have time.

  3. Glenda says:

    Phew Misky, that is much too tricky for me:(

    1. Misky says:

      It’s long but it’s not tricky or difficult. 🙂

  4. Karen says:

    I clicked on to the read the tutorial but it has now disappeared somewhere in my documents…oh well. I guess I’m going to need another tutorial to find it. LOL

    1. Misky says:

      Is it sitting in your My Documents –> Download file?

      1. Karen says:

        Thanks Misky…I’ll check there.

    2. Misky says:

      Karen, try right-clicking on that file link, and then select “Save Target As”… Then you can select a new name (if your wish) and choose where to save it. 🙂

  5. Glenda says:

    Hey Misky, I did it!! Thanks..

    1. Misky says:

      Excellent! 😀 xx

      1. Glenda says:

        Do I have to do anything else? I just got a welcome email from AddThis.

        1. Misky says:

          Nope nothing more. Just ignore the email.

  6. Glenda says:

    Hi Misk
    Since you are so knowledgeable I thought I would ask you a question.
    I tried to follow your instructions to add a link to my Eat Your Books profile but it didn’t work. I tried the text widget and the image widget. The image widget seemed better, the link worked but I only got a rectangle with a cross and no image. Eat Your Books provide the HTML code which I copied and pasted. Do you have any ideas.?

    1. Misky says:

      I just signed up and looked at the code. It uses javascript, so as far as I’m aware you can’t use it on WordPress. This keep blogs safe from nasty people trying to create cope that can peek into your computer and cause mischief. My only suggestion at this time is time your write to info@eatyourbooks.com and ask if there’s an alternative widget that doesn’t use script.

    2. Misky says:

      Nope, I can’t get it to work with WordPress either. Did all sorts of tinkering but WordPress just doesn’t play nice with java script. Sorry, Glenda. Write to Eat Your Books, and see if there’s an alternative html code without javascript.

      1. Glenda says:

        Thanks Misky, I thought I was doing everything right. Its just that Amanda from Lambs’ Ears and Honey has done it, so it must be possible. I did write to Jane at EYB who gave me the HTML code. I’ll get back to her. Thank you so much for trying. G

        1. Misky says:

          What’s the URL of her blog. I’ll pop over and see what she did.

          1. Glenda says:

            Hi Misky
            Its http://www.lambsearsandhoney.com
            Thank you so much for your help.

            1. Misky says:

              I think her blog is self-hosted (so it’s WordPress org) and she has a premium upgrade. I looked at the style sheet, which you can see view by right-clicking on her page and selecting View Source. There’s javascript throughout it, which leads me to believe that she’s paid for the upgraded site. I think you should write her and see if this is the case so you know what’s required to add that widget. I might also be added as Plug-in, which also indicates a premium (rather than free).

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

