In My Kitchen: May 2012

I look forward to the start of each month because that’s when Celia’s Fig Jam and Lime Cordial features “In My Kitchen”. I suspect that I’m a closet snoopy-boots; I love seeing what goodies are in my friends’ kitchens.  For May, my kitchen is revealing two utterly ordinary items: bottled milk and a micro-mesh scum-skimmer.

InMyKitchenMay

Let’s do the milk first. After my interview with Celi from The Kitchens Garden about Living a Sustainable Lifestyle, I decided to stop buying supermarket milk in plastic bottles. A decade ago, I had a daily delivery of milk in glass bottles from our local diary. We stopped after the boys left home as our need for a constant milk supply was less urgent, plus the price per pint was 5-pence per bottle more than the supermarket. And then disaster hit the industry. Local dairies started closing because the supermarkets priced dairies out of business; wholesale milk prices plummeted.

Well a new dairy opened nearby, and I am going to support it as much as possible. I now have fresh milk in pint glass bottles with a shiny foil cap delivered three times a week. Good on me, I hear Celi say. And it tastes lovely.

And now my skimmer. I am delighted beyond words with my new scum-skimmer that I bought at Ikea. I’ve had my eyes on a similar one at Amazon USA, but I was reluctant to pay the extra postage and package costs to dispatch it to the UK. And then I found an almost identical one at Ikea. I snapped it up! The surface is a thin micro-mesh, and it simplifies making broth and bouillon because the impurities and foam don’t dribble back into the liquid. I love it.

And finally, in the background of the photo is my grandmother’s antique pewter water pitcher. We don’t use it for drinking water because it’s not marked lead-free, and we’re uncertain about the country of origin, which makes it difficult to determine if it contains lead and tin. It does however make a lovely container for flowers. The tulips are from my garden.

To join in the fun of In My Kitchen, just pop over to Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for May’s feature.

26 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh, how lovely! I have a similar skimmer made by Cuisipro, I love it! Fresh milk in bottles, that brings back memories. And your grandmother’s pewter pitcher, how special is that!

    1. Misky says:

      Lizzy, that’s the brandname of the one I wanted on Amazon USA. It looks very good.

  2. Oh Misk, it’s been a lifetime since I’ve seen bottled milk! How wonderful! We have a similar skimmer for jams – works a treat! Thanks for sharing your kitchen with us this month!

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Celia. I’m paying 64 pence per pint, and the supermarket charges 58 pence per pint. That’s why people have stopped supporting local dairies. I’m just sick to death of all the plastic I bring into this house (and then recycle). The glass bottles are re-used over and over, not recycled, so I’m willing to pay extra. I wish more people would support local business.

      I love In My Kitchen, and always look forward to it. Thanks for ‘cooking up’ such a fun feature.

  3. Glenda says:

    Misky
    I am so jealous that you can get real milk delivered. I find it difficult to even buy real milk. I was just bitching today how supermarkets are taking all our choices away from us. We have just resolved not to shop at them unless we cannot find what we want anywhere else.

    1. Misky says:

      No fresh milk? Is that because of the climate where you live; no cows?

  4. I’ve been wanting to find a place where I can get fresh milk, your post reminded me! I’ve come by way of MNINB, going through the blog list. I have a food blog too, but haven’t written anything on it for a while.

  5. Gerry Wilson says:

    Love this post, Misky, and the lovely photograph, too. I have an antique blue ware pitcher (two, actually) that belonged to my grandmother. I use them only for flowers. I hopped on over to Fig Jam and Lime Cordial, and what a discovery. I’ll be following Celia now, and I would love to add an “In My Kitchen” feature to my blog, maybe monthly. Thanks for sharing the link and for your own lovely site.

    1. Misky says:

      I would love to see what’s in your kitchen, Gerry! Can’t wait. Be sure to post a link back to your blog post leading to Celia’s blog. She then lists them all for the month. 🙂

  6. I buy my milk form the milkman too – organic milk, which has been proven to be more nutritious. And I pay the bills online!

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Diana, and welcome. Chichester? We’re almost neighbours! I wish I could pay my milk bill online but our local is a small enterprise, so it’s either cash or cheque fortnightly. Our local Dairy Crest closed last year. BooHoo. Thanks for posting your comment, and I hope ro see you again soon! 🙂

      1. Meant to also say that most of supermarket milk is imported but doorstep milk is British.
        So where are you?
        I’m trying to blog more but it’s hard to get into the habit!

        1. Misky says:

          I’m near Crawley. I envy the farmers’ market in Chchester; it’s wonderful. Ours is a bad joke.

          Didn’t know that about supermarket milk. Another reason to avoid buying it! Where is most of it coming from?

          1. A quick google revealed 2008 stats: the milk comes mainly from the Republic of Ireland, Belgium, Netherlands, France and Germany. Oddly enough I was in Belgium a couple of weeks ago and despite their big airy industry the milk on the breakfast buffet was mostly UHT!
            Yes, Chichester farmers’ market is good, especially since its management was taken back into the Council’s management after being privately contracted out. We can now buy meat and dairy from the Goodwood organic estate, including superb cream and even raw mllk!

            1. Misky says:

              You can buy unlocked mobile phones, veg from Spain and very damp, iffy looking bread at ours. We always head for your market, making a fun day of it. 🙂

              1. That doesn’t sound like a farmers’ market to me! Glad you come to ours. Look out for me! Also Tuppenny Barn Organics (fruit and veg on the best-dressed stall, appearing once a month) is a social media client of mine …

                1. Misky says:

                  Will do, Diana. Is there anything that I can do here at Misk Cooks, a link to the market or farms perhaps, to support local organic businesses?

                  1. Thanks! Tuppenny Barn Organics is now following you on Twitter and Facebook. Any RTs/Shares would be appreciated!

  7. heidiannie says:

    Milk in bottles. Tulips in pitcher. And a very handy skimmer.
    I always like your kitchen- and love that you got all your treasures into one photo- very economical and arty!

    1. Misky says:

      You like the single photo, eh? I’ll have to remember that for next time. It certainly makes it easier!

  8. muddykinzer says:

    Love those tulips in the background! They’re beautiful! I love the In My Kitchen feature too…fun!

    1. Misky says:

      The colours remind me of Easter eggs! :).

      Thanks for stopping by for a read and commenting.

  9. I think milk tastes better out of a glass bottle.. colder and sweeter:) xo Smidge (and I love that skimmer.. looking online at Ikea now:)

  10. Misk, so lucky to be able to support a local dairy and get your milk delivered in glass bottles. I would love to be able to do that.
    (Does Denmark have the vending machines in the countryside that you can get fresh milk from- I love the idea of these, and have heard of them in Italy and Belgium.)

    1. Misky says:

      I live in southeast England, not Denmark (although I do visit there very often because of family). I’ve not heard of vending machines with fresh milk – fab idea though. Fun thing: I’d swear that I’m drinking more milk now that it comes in bottles. I’m going through 1 pint a day just myself!

      1. I know your an English lass 😉 just wondered if you had seen any in your travels. Apparently the local farmer fills up the ‘vending machine’ and you can choose how much milk you take. Love it!
        Enjoy that milk Misk.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

