Garden Diary: 1 May 2012

Tulips, Cucumbers and Gnomes

The mid-spring tulips are blooming. Bright and fiery in colour, these tulips are one of my favourites for adding a bit of visual heat to the garden. I even wrote a poem about them on MiskMask’s Poems called “Fiery Tulips”

fieryTulips_30Apr12

In contrast, there are soft and gently coloured pink tulips that compliment the still blooming purple and blue hyacinths.

pinkTulips_30Apr12

The rain stopped for a few days, just long enough we hope for the bees to pollinate the apple trees. April has been very wet. Our local reservoir, which was only 33% filled in March, is now at 67% full. It’s been the wettest April for 100-years. Everything is very green though!

AppleBlossoms2_30Apr12

AppleBlossoms_30Apr12

The cucumber seedlings are growing in leaps and bounds. I think Elmo and Jack have been talking to them, saying sweet-pickling-nothings into their ears … assuming that cucumber seedlings have ears. We’ve moved the entire into the greenhouse now so that they can be hardened off before they’re planted out.

cucSeedlings_30Apr12

I’m not sure where Elmo (the gnome) is at the moment. Busy under a bush probably, but Jack has been seen several times crossing swords with baby slugs. I wondered why he wanted all those toothpicks ….

daisyJack_30Apr12

The chives are a natural (companion planting) insect repellent. It’s not 100% effective but it does help deter green and white fly infestation. I hope you’re happy in your garden right now, enjoying the early days when nature awakens in vibrant colour and sweet scent.

I would love to hear what is thriving in your garden right now! Leave a comment, and tell me.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Glenda says:

    Hi Misk, your garden looks great. I particularly love that pale pink tulip. I can’t have tulips, its not cold enough here.

    1. Misky says:

      What a shame, Glenda, but I know how that is. I lived in a tropical climate for many years, and I was glad to return to proper seasonal changes when we returned to the UK. Have you tried forcing bulbs in the fridge?

  2. K. McGee says:

    Your garden is lovely! I’m heading over to read your poem in just a few minutes.

    We mostly vegetable garden and grow fruit trees. Even though we do have a few rose bushes and a small pond garden with various flowering plants that we put in for a nice relaxing water feature. Right now, we have a few tomatoes growing, some wax, green, lima, blackeye, and pinto beans, a sickly looking little black beauty eggplant, some yellow, red, and white onions, concord and muscadine grapes, strawberry’s which are almost bloomed out for now, pineapples (which haven’t produced yet – next year is the year for those), and a blackberry that just came into bloom.

    There are still peaches growing on the peach trees, we jarred 24 pints of loquat jam this year. – Yum! The pear, apple, and black plum trees are still too young to produce, but we are hoping for some stone fruit next year. The pink grapefruit tree is covered in citrus! And lo and behold we are actually going to get Valencia oranges for the first time this year.

    We don’t grow large quantities of any one thing, but rather have more fun growing a little of many things. You know what they say about variety – The Spice of Life! Not to mention our lot is simply not large enough to support big “crops.”

    1. Misky says:

      Your garden sounds amazing, and I’d love to have enough land for more fruit trees. I have three apple trees, all different varieties, but I’d happily sacrifice one of them for a plum tree.

      We used to grow our own strawberries and raspberries, too, but now we just go a local farm and pick what we need. We live in an area with a lot of fruit and veg farms. Many years ago, we lived in southern California and we had avocado trees, olive trees and orange trees in our garden. Ahhhh, those were the days; free food. Now I have a greenhouse to extend the growing season, which is nice. It’s great for giving seedlings a head-start.

  3. It’s good to see Jack at work !

  4. Sadly, I have nothing in my garden, as it’s non-existent this year. I haven’t built it yet.

    In not-so-sad news, however, I’m passing on the Liebster award to you! For amazing photos, excellent recipes, and beautiful poetry.

    See the full post at Rhymes With Tao: http://rhymeswithtao.blogspot.com/2012/05/danke-fuer-die-liebster.html#.T6Kb56TZTUc

  5. Karen says:

    Your tulips are so beautiful. We have too many critters that enjoy munching on their bulbs but thank goodness they at least leave the daffodils alone.

    1. Misky says:

      We have critters too but I have a lot of tulips and daffs, and the little monsters can’t eat everything! 😀

  6. Will says:

    Lovely looking Garden Misky!

    I’ve started a collaborative veg and herb garden with my mum this year, meaning I get to learn from her experience and she gets a fresh perspective and a slightly obsessive research-driven helper! We’ve about 10 varieties of herbs, 4 sorts of salad leaves, 6 of squash and courgette, peas, beans, radishes, carrots, beetroot, celeriac, cucumbers, gherkins, peppers, tomatoes, chillis, and probably something else potted or germinating. It’s fair to say I rarely do things by halves! I’ll be doing a write up when I’ve got through all my job applications!

    Will
    Leavened Heaven: My Search for Sarnie Shangri-La

    1. Misky says:

      I’m really looking forward to reading about your gardening adventures. That’s quite a list of wonderful veg! I’m finding that my seedlings are going a bit leggy because of lack of sunshine. Water sure isn’t an issue though! We had over 100mm of rain in April, and it’s still raining into May.

  7. dianadomino says:

    Oh, those apple blossoms! I could almost smell them! You are a fantastic photographer, madam!

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks you, Diana. 🙂

  8. Oh, Misky.. I’m reading everywhere of beautiful gardens.. I’ve got to do something here with my grass and rock garden, fabric covered soil.. I’m desperate and itching to grow things. If I get the courage to do this.. I’ll be posting pictures for you:D Your garden looks lovely (ooooh, and maybe I could have a gnome as well!!) xo Smidge

    1. Misky says:

      Just think, Smidge, you could grow all of your own cut flowers for the house! And of course a gnome gnhelper is always a bonus!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

