I Certainly Don’t Want This Guy Blowing in My Ear!

I am always looking for clever ways to make my life easier. I want spend my day doing things I enjoy … rather than doing things I consider a tedious chore. Obviously chores need doing, but what if you found a way that made peeling eggs dead easy. Easy as in never having to peel a boiled egg again. And no, that doesn’t mean that you have to eat egg shells. Watch this guy, and be prepared to burst into astonished laughter.

By the way, I haven’t tested this trick to see if it works, but I will in the next few days.

There’s a interesting blog post and video clip of this at http://lifehacker.com/5651930/easily-peel-hard+boiled-eggs


Update – I’ve tried twice to reproduce this ‘trick’, and I’ve failed both times. Pshaw. I’d be very interested in knowing if ANYONE managed to blow an egg out of its shell. And while we’re on the subject of duff stuff on the internet, I added bicarb to the water in which I boiled the eggs, and if anything the shells stuck more tightly than without bicarb. This experience has left me totally grumpy and convinced that the quality of info on the internet is at par with the tat sold on the shopping channel.

The video is a good laugh though …

15 Comments Add yours

    1. Misky says:

      Fun video but I can’t reproduce the trick!

  1. Awesome – got to give it a try!
    🙂 Mandy

    1. Misky says:

      Did it work? It doesn’t for me. 😦

      1. Haven’t tried yet – will definitely this weekend sometime. Will let you know.

        1. Misky says:

          Thanks, Mandy! My lung capacity isn’t what it was when I was younger, so maybe it’s just me who can’t do it. 😀

          1. Right, we boiled 2 eggs and added half a teaspoon of bicarb and the one egg popped out of its shell while boiling (still usable) and the other one stayed perfectly intact. We pinched off the top and bottom of the shell and blew – IT WORKED!!! Super cool. Will try it again to see if we can keep all the eggs intact while boiling. 🙂

            1. Misky says:

              That is incredible! I must try again. Perhaps I did it wrong. Back to the kitchen! 🙂

  2. Tandy says:

    I use an egg boiler, but I would be willing to try this once by using a pot to boil my eggs in 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      I’ve tried twice, and still can’t do it. 😦

    1. Misky says:

      Not so sure. I can’t make the egg fly out of its shell!

  3. Hahaha.. hilarious!! My husband would think I’ve finally lost it!! And my kids wouldn’t touch an egg I’d blown on!!

    1. Misky says:

      I can make this method work. Almost blew myself blue from the effort. 😀

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

