How-To Make Tartar Sauce

When I was in high school, there was a small café across the street from the bus stop that sold the best French fried potatoes (chips) and homemade tartar sauce that I’ve ever tasted (then and/or now!). This recipe is the closest I’ve come to replicating their tartar sauce. And to this day I still prefer tartar sauce over ketchup with my chips.

tartarSauce_13Mar12

Tartar Sauce

1 cup (250 ml) mayonnaise
1 hard-boiled egg, finely chopped
2 tablespoons finely chopped pickle or gherkin
1 tablespoons finely chopped fresh parsley
1 tablespoons finely chopped shallots or yellow onion
2 tablespoons (30 ml) fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon French Dijon-style mustard
Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in a small bowl. Makes about 1 1/4 cup (300 ml).

This pairs up perfectly with my No-Fry-Chips. Make up a batch, and then go all saucy – tartar saucy that is!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. underthebluegumtree says:

    Ooh chips and tartar sauce. Yum! I would never have thought to put hard boiled egg in tartar sauce. Will have to give it a go next time I make some.

    1. Misky says:

      Let me know how you get on with it, and if you tweak it successfully. This recipe has been a work in progress for several decades. 😀

  2. Fabulous. I’m bookmarking this recipe and it will be made soon, I love proper tartar sauce!

    1. Misky says:

      Brill! My husband really likes this one, and considering that he’s not a mayo type guy, that’s a statement in itself. 🙂

  3. I have never added hard boiled eggs to tartar sauce before, sounds like a fantastic addition.
    🙂 Mandy

    1. Misky says:

      Mr. Misky seemed to like it! 😀

  4. Now this is fantastic… I hadn’t thought of adding egg but that would make all the difference in the texture!!

    1. Misky says:

      Just chop the egg very small so it’s not like egg salad! 😀

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

