I Love Leftovers: Cauliflower Banger Soup

Leftovers: Cauliflower, Potato and Banger Soup

I always cook more than I think we’ll eat for dinner so that I have a no-brainer, quick-to-fix lunch the next day. On Saturday, I’d accumulated enough leftovers for two easy lunches.

There was a bowlful of boiled new potatoes …

cauliSoup1

a massive chunk of steamed cauliflower and two bangers.

cauliSoup2

I sliced up the bangers thinly, and fried them until crispy and slightly caramelised, and then …

cauliSoup3

…  in my old grubby pan that I use for whizzing up homemade soup with a stick handblender, I added approximately 600ml of chicken broth made from a cube, the chopped up cauliflower, a good shake of white pepper, 2 potatoes (peeled and cut into small cubes), and brought all that up to a boil. Then I turned-off the heat, and whizzed it all up until it was silky smooth and creamy. A small splash of milk, some slivers of salad onion, and the hot banger slices were added and stirred into the soup. A quick taste … a pinch of salt … some red pepper flakes … and lunch was served with (click for recipe) warm soda bread muffins straight out of the oven.

cauliSoup4

Leftovers. I love them. It’s the height of creativity to turn them into something that doesn’t look leftover.

Do your leftovers go into the kitchen bin or do you turn them into a meal?

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Will says:

    Never the bin! Soupy-Mondays are a favourite in their own right in my house, where cooked-left overs, as well as the odds and ends that always accumulate in any fridge/cupboard/pantry/larder can get turned into something liquid to go with a home baked loaf. And when I’m at home, I like those lunches which start off as a disparate collection of ingredients and end up (mostly) making some kind of sense…

    Will
    Leavened Heaven: My Search for Sarnie Shangri-La

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Yeah, Will! I’m so glad to hear that. It’s not so much that I’m a £pincher but rather that I love a good challenge, and certainly playing with leftovers is a test of ones creativity. I find that good cooks rarely throw out good food.

      And then there’s the whole issue of sell-by dates ….. Hm!

  2. Karen says:

    Your way of cooking sounds just like mine. I love to take leftovers from a meal or two and create a totally new dish. So many times the flavors from the leftover ingredients have actually improved and the newly created meal turns out delicious such as your soup.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Absolutely right, Karen, particularly if the original dish had lots of herbs. They always seems to intensify in flavour when they sit overnight.

      Thanks so much for stopping by for a read. I’m off to read about your road trips now on your blog. It’s something else that we have in common!

  3. Tandy says:

    I try and make extra dinner so that I have something to eat for lunch when I get home, but usually Dave scoffs them before I can hide them 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Those men; what are they like, eh? 😀 I have one, too, that does the same.

  4. Rock Salt says:

    Soda bread muffins sound perfect with this soup – what a great lunch.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Thanks! It’s was nice on a winter’s afternoon. 🙂

  5. Fantastic, great way to feed yourselves with something hearty and nourishing, as well as not waste perfectly good food!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I’m looking forward to the arrival of spring, but not the end of soup season! 😀

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

