Amazing Baked Apples

Tandy’s Amazing Baked Apple

Tandy Sinclair’s cookery blog, Lavender and Lime, is included on my browser’s Favourites List with good reason. We share a similar preference in how we think food should taste: clean, natural and uncomplicated. This recipe is hers, and you’ll find it on her blog post “Baked Apples”.

BakedApple5

I’ve modified it slightly for P’s diabetic requirements (honey has a high GI number). Her original recipe called for pistachios, rose water and cranberries. I had cider that I use to feed my Mother of Vinegar, pecans leftover from Christmas baking, dried cranberries (ditto) and agave syrup, which I always have in the cupboard.

BakedApple2

It all worked perfectly, which goes to show that you just have to work with what you’ve got in your pantry. All quantities are the same as in Tandy’s recipe – only difference being the substitutions that I mentioned above.

BakedApple3

This is a nifty trick. Tandy’s, not mine. Cut a bit out of the bottom of the apple, and then core it from top to bottom, re-insert the bottom bit and then fill the centre with the fruit-nut stuffing.

BakedApple4

The apples I used are home-grown, organic (they look like they’ve been hit with an ugly stick), and rather small. They’re stored in the shed outside, and some are in better condition than others. I grabbed four of the better ones.

BakedApple6

As I write this, the apples are baking in the oven. Tandy says 12-minutes at 180C should do it. Every recipe I’ve seen states anywhere from 30 to 60 minutes, most covered with foil, although Tandy’s recipe doesn’t mention that. Another thing not mentioned in her recipe was making a shallow cut around the circumference of the apple so it doesn’t explode as the flesh cooks. Not wanting to scrub the oven, I played it safe and cut a line around each apple. We’ll see what happens.

This recipe is a total success. I added a dollop of half-fat crème fraîche with a bit of vanilla extract and a squirt of agave for sweetness. Pop over to Tandy’s blog for the full recipe and instructions for her “Baked Apples”.

My version is:

Baked Apples Stuffed with Dried Cranberries and Pecans

  • An equal volume of dried cranberries and pecans, roughly chopped and tossed together.
  • A small knob of butter for each apple
  • Agave syrup
  • Cox apples (1 per person)

Cut a small ‘plug’ from the bottom of the apple, and set it aside. Now core the apple using a long thin knife. Return the ‘plug’ to the bottom of the apple, and stuff the centre with the chopped cranberry-pecan mixture. Fill to just above the top of the apple. Squirt a bit of agave syrup into the fruit-nut mixture, and then top with a small knob of butter. Cut a shallow line around the circumference of each apple so they don’t explode during baking. Place the apples in an ovenproof dish and bake at 180C until just tender (about 12-20 minutes). Serve warm with a dollop of crème fraîche.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. ceciliag says:

    Oh wow, I have not had baked apples in such a long time, and what startling stuffing. i am definitely going to do this and your apples are not ugly AT ALL! c

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I baked them for 12-minutes, so they were still slightly al dente (if I can use that term for apples). I didn’t want them turning to a pulpy mess so it worked out well. Larger apples will need more time. The dried cranberries were brilliant with it. Let me know what you think of them!

  2. Tandy says:

    wow, yours look amazing! I am going to add a link to your post as an edit to mine, as I used really small apples 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

