Dan Lepard’s Double Chocolate and Lemon Sherbet Meringues

Short and Sweet Baking Challenge: Double Chocolate and Lemon Sherbet Meringues

These look a bit rough and ready; I’ve never perfected the skill of dropping gloopy ingredients from a spoon and forming a teardrop shape. I’m in awe of the photo in “Short and Sweet” – those perfectly formed little oval baubles.

meringues1

Appearances aside, mine taste perfectly heavenly, and have a small nub of chewiness at the centre, just as I’d hoped. I plan to make these again but shape them as a Pavlova base.

I also made a batch of the Lemon Sherbet meringues for my husband using Half Spoon sweetener. He thought they were successful. I wasn’t convinced because the sweetener bled after baking, and there was a slight gritty texture that I found unpleasant. He was pleased though, and that’s all that matters to me. I forgot to take photos of the lemon version while I was beating the ingredients together, so here’s a photo of the empty bowl.

meringues2

And here are the finished meringues. I had a bit of trouble keeping my insatiable taste for a bit of chocolate under control. I finally put them into a ziplock bag and froze them so I couldn’t eat them all willy-nilly.

meringues3

meringues5

Great recipe, both of them. Look forward to trying it again this summer with strawberries and cream on a chocolate meringue base.

Amazon UK still has Dan’s Short and Sweet book in stock, so get your copy and join the #shortandtweet Baking Challenge on Twitter.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. My meringues are never neat. I’m pretty much still taking the attitude that if I remember to bake it, that’s good. If I finish it properly, that’s unexpected.

    I wish I were neater and I think that whenever I see your photographs or those elsewhere.

    I like the icy-vault method of portion control and may well have to bear that in mind.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I managed to thoroughly cocoa powder myself when trying to dust half of each meringue with it. Not sure how to do that without making a total mess! I had a new respect for Aki on Masterchef and the mess she makes. I was sorry to see her go last night.

  2. underthebluegumtree says:

    I made the chocolate ones too and thought they were wonderful. I served mine with a Cointreau cream and some candied orange which was delicious. I like the marbling you have on yours, I think I folded my chocolate in a little too much. I have also been struggling to get my meringues off the baking tray and about half of them lost their bottom! Not sure where I am going wrong. Maybe not cooking them long enough?

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      My baking sheets are so old and decrepit that I have to use baking parchment just make them functional. I reckon the baking parchment saved my ‘bottoms’ … so to speak. 😉 Are your meringues cooked inside okay, or are they still squidgy?

      1. underthebluegumtree says:

        Made a second batch and no sticky bottoms. Think I wasn’t cooking them quite long enough as was paranoid about them being too dry like horrible commercial meringues. I don’t think there is any danger of that with Dan’s fab recipes though.

        1. Misk Cooks says:

          I just read your post, and thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m thinking Eaton Mess for those meringues!

  3. Perfect, I have 4 egg whites sitting in the fridge.
    🙂 Mandy

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      You’ll only need 3 egg whites for the double choc meringues. They’re so delish!

  4. Thank you for participating: I’ve borrowed a photograph for the #shortandtweet meringue compendium.

    I’ve been thinking about the Lemon Sherbert meringues and the use of Half Spoon: it’s useful to know that this delivers a good texture as, after reading McGee, it seems that the sugar adds volume and tenderness to the meringue. Did you use half of the recommended amount in the recipe: did you grind down some to use in place of the icing sugar?

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Hi EV. Funny that it didn’t occur to me to give the Half Spoon a whizz in the food processor because that’s what I usually do when I bake with it. In answer to your question, yes, I used half the quantity of Half Spoon instead of sugar, but no, I didn’t process it. I suspect that the low oven temperature didn’t melt the sweetener completely, and that’s why it bled slightly after baking. I’ll try that when I make this recipe again. Thanks for the suggestion!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

