What Cold Looks Like

Garden Diary 2012 – 11 Feb: sunny, minus 12C.

We all know what cold feels like.

Sometimes it’s ice cream or a drink, a stab of pain as a nerve ushers a shiver of pain down an exposed nerve, or that sting and burn along the edge of your ears as the wind caresses them. Sometimes it’s a heavy ache in your lungs, inhaling and exhaling crystalline air. But what does cold look like?

Cold* looks like this….

iceCold2_11Feb12

* taken from inside the car.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. heidiannie says:

    There’s a stretch along the turnpike in Pennsylvania that is always affected by hoar frost- the trees standing out white and ghostly against the dark sky and black Allegheny mountain that makes me shiver each time we pass through. The car is nice and toasty warm by that part of our journey – but those trees blanketed in thick frost send a shiver up and down my spine!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      That sounds amazing, and just a little bit spooky, too.

  2. ceciliag says:

    Stunning.. is that your house in the background, what a beautiful portrait! c

    1. MiskMask says:

      Thanks, Celi, and yes, that’s my house in the background. 🙂

  3. Great photo! I’m back home and we’ve had an inch of ice on the pond all week – brrr!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Should thaw soon; 6C and pouring rain now. My roses are still well buried under snow though.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Thanks! I’m glad that I dashed back into the house to grab my camera. 🙂

  4. Cold…is surprisingly beautiful.. x

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Nature is remarkable! 🙂 xx

  5. That IS beautiful Misk… the picture makes you want to trace the ice with your finger. I love the cold.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I can imagine that you DO love the cold — being heavily pregnant, extremely hormonal, and in the midst of high-summer. 😉 Frankly, I’m ready for Spring now.

  6. hotlyspiced says:

    Oh wow! That is really cold. I don’t think I’ve been in temperatures that low. You must be really looking forward to the arrival of Spring.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Yes, I am. *Really*. Pity though that the recent snow storm battered the daffoldils and crocuses into the soil. I’m hoping that the daffs recover but don’t hold out much hope for the crocuses. 😦

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

