Dan Lepard’s Superwraps

Short and Tweet Baking Challenge: Superwraps

I’ve seen the word “quinoa” before but never realised that this week’s baking challenge would be a lesson in pronunciation. It’s not kwin-oha, which is how I’ve always pronounced it. It’s “keen-wah”. I carefully sounded it out several times in my head, hoping it would stick. It didn’t. I was calling it kwin-oha again before the day was done. But I assure you that Dan’s Superwraps are much easier to make than remembering how to pronounce the name of those weird little creamy-colour seeds, which remarkably isn’t a cereal or grain – quinoa is related to the same family as the beets, spinach and tumbleweed.

So I set about toasting the quinoa in a dry frying pan until the seeds turned nutty brown. Bored, my mind started wandering … I made

 

… Pacman faces, and then …

 

I made smiley faces …. and …

crescent moons and …

 

quinoa beaches and …

 

shapes that I didn’t really recognise as anything. And when the seeds were toasty brown…

heat defuser under potI rolled them from the pan directly into a pot of tepid water. The recipe didn’t say if the water should be cold or hot or tepid, so I just went for a temperature that felt very wet.

The hot seeds fizzled and jumped and shot steam into the air. My gas cooker can’t keep a ‘gentle heat’ under a pan, so I put one of my old heat defusers underneath which kept the water at a steady, soft simmer. The water was absorbed within the time stated in the recipe, and I let the seeds cool on a plate. I was fascinated by the change in texture and colour of the quinoa. This stuff is very odd. Apparently it’s also very nutritious.

quinoa browned and cooked

I made the dough using white spelt combined with strong bread flour, and after resting the dough for 30-minutes, it was very easy to work and roll thinly. Knowing from experience that when Dan says ‘”thin” he means “thinner than you’d believe possible” … I just kept rolling and rotating and flipping each 70 grams of dough until doing so any further seemed obsessive. I tossed the first one into a dry frying pan (dry since the recipe didn’t say oiled) and watched closely for the “blistering” to happen. I missed this important signal because the telephone rang. It was Molly’s veterinarian saying that the lab results showed she had an ear infection. “Ears drop and steroid tablets required,” I told her. She gave me a look. She hates ear drops.

molly2Feb12

By the time I returned to my first superwrap, it had transformed into a supercrispy flatbread, which to be honest didn’t taste half bad. The next one was better but I think I was a bit heavy-handed with the sunflower oil on it. The following one was nearly perfect, and the last (and 10th) one was just as I wanted. Delicious, soft and pliable, perhaps a touch salty but better that than too bland. The trick is not to allow these to sit in the pan too long. Quickly, quickly does it best.

Mr Misk liked them, too. That’s always an important consideration in whether I’ll make something again or not. I’ll be making these again.

wrap9 (1024x768)

We stuffed them full with slow-roasted lemon and chilli pepper chicken, diced tomatoes, shredded lettuce and pepper sauce.

And Molly waited impatiently for her dinner, too.

molly2_3Feb12

Dan Lepard’s “Short and Sweet” book is available at Amazon UK and Amazon USA

For this week’s Short and Tweet Challenge summary, click here.

29 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    Dear Molly you are so beautiful and Mrs Misk’s superwraps look like she’s been making them all her life! They look amazing! i love the sand patterns too. I hadn’t fancied the sound of ki no wa at all tbh, I have had it puffed in breakfast cereal and thought pah! but now I’ve seen yours It might get made one day. They look like dosa, which are my favourites of all the flatbread/pancake family.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      These wraps are quite delicious, not like anything I’ve tasted before, but still very tasty. I recommend them highly.

      And Molly sends her regards. She’s getting extra treats and being pampered to make up for ear drops and tablets and icky ear(s). Poor girl.

  2. I still haven’t done these superwraps (mea culpa). However, yes – quinoa is quite the darling of people who’re looking for one of those rare non-animal sources of the complete spectrum of amino acids.

    Having read your account I instinctively feel that these wraps are ‘thin beyond my patience endurance level to roll’ so I may attempt bribery to get my Best Beloved to do that part of the recipe.

    I like the ‘while toasting quinoa’ shapes 🙂

    Sympathies for a disgruntled Molly.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I find this very thin dough a delightful challenge, so I don’t mind it at all. Quite fun, actually. I found it easier to roll than the Crispy Rye Flatbread. Or maybe I had a better feel for what I was doing this time. 🙂

  3. heidiannie says:

    I love quinoa- I use it in Italian wedding soup rather than the tapioca and it has a nice flavor and a happy crunch. Your wraps look delectable and your roasted seeds and shapes really made me chuckle!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Hi! Now that’s interesting! My quinoa has no crunch. It was browned in a dry pan, and then simmered over low heat for 15 mins until all the water was absorbed. But yours is crunchy?

      1. heidiannie says:

        Well, crunchy next to tapioca, Perhaps crunchy is not the right word. It is a definite chomp.
        BTW- I couldn’t stand NOT having one of those so I put together a couple of recipes (I don’t have Dan’s book) and used the quinoa and
        spelt flour along with potato flour, instant yeast, salt and oil- plus some boiling water- came up with my own wraps.
        They are delicious!
        Thanks for the inspiration.

        1. Misk Cooks says:

          How did the yeast effect the wrap? Dan’s recipe uses baking powder so there’s very little rise – more like a slight lift, if you know what I mean.

          1. heidiannie says:

            I rolled them out VERY thin and they were perfect. I ended up with 9 wraps- we used 4 of them immediately with grilled chicken breast marinated in coconut milk and roasted poblano peppers, hummus, and grilled onions. The wraps were delicious and flexible- the lift from the yeast just added a little extra lightening, and the complex flavor it added was a bonus.

            1. Misk Cooks says:

              That sounds absolutely sensational, and now I’m really feeling a bit of hunger rattling about in my tummy. 😀

  4. C says:

    I love your description of the whole process – it made me chuckle to think of you standing there making pictures in your quinoa! I haven’t ever tried quinoa either, but your wraps look fantastic, perhaps I’ll have to find some one day.

    Hope the eardrops and steroids work for Molly and she gets better quickly, she’s beautiful 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Quinoa is interesting stuff. I have a whole bag of it, so I’ll be making more wraps for sure. 😀

  5. Dear Misk, please send your dog asap for multiple pats, strokes, walks, and love. Will return at the end of the weekend…Thanks. (she’s beautiful!!)
    as for the wraps… they sound like just the ticket. I think I just need to buy this book and be done with it!! Too much umming and ahhing.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Molly is having lots and lots of fun today. We had 10cm of snow overnight, and we’ve been outside much of the day (shovelling snow – aching arms!). My sweet Molly seems to attract every snowflake right to her fur – she’s a big pupcicle today.

      Yes, please buy Dan book. Then you can bake with us! Yeah!

  6. nickyjerrome says:

    Wow they look great! Quinoa worked for me after my not so successful attempt with oatmeal. I overcooked a few and I agree they made delicious crispy flatbreads the next day!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Thanks, Nicky, and welcome to the fun! I considered the oatmeal, but then we ate it for brekkie on the morning I intended to bake, so I popped to the shops and bought some quinoa. Now I have this bag of quinoa, and don’t know what else to use it for – besides Superwraps! I see that Heidi uses it for an Italian wedding soup. Maybe I’ll use it in soup. 😀

      1. Quinoa is a good enough salad: roasted Med. vegetables is the commonest but it works well with other roasted root vegetables with a good dressing (lemon, garlic, various herbs).

        I’ve made something like these patties and the mix does keep for several days and is very tolerant of herb combinations.

        I know there are cake recipes that use quinoa but I’ve never baked any.

        1. Misk Cooks says:

          Oh my, EV! Those roasted veg are exactly the sort of thing I love to eat. Thanks for the heads up on that one! I’ll add an aubergine to my shopping list – I have everything else that I need. 🙂

        2. nickyjerrome says:

          There’s a quinoa cake in Short and Sweet isn’t there? Quinoa and hazelnut or something. I’m off to look…

          1. You’re right, it’s pp 164-66, the quinoa hazelnut cake which is a flourless cake with an interesting and rather clever technique which is some ways is calling out to me and in other ways I’m trying to resist.

            1. Misk Cooks says:

              Hi Nicky and EV! Quite right about the cake. It looks splendid, doesn’t it? Such a pretty photo in the book. Are you going to make it?

      2. heidiannie says:

        It is also great in salads- add some grilled eggplant, onions and fresh tomatoes. Yum!

        1. Misk Cooks says:

          Yes, I bet it *is* really yummy in salads. Great tip! Thank you!!

  7. Will says:

    I’ve subbed in quinoa when making Mulligatawny soup, and it worked beautifully. I’ve never toasted it though… I want to make all three of this weeks shortandtweet recipes!

    Really enjoyed the post, and “get well soon” to Molly!

    Will
    Leavened Heaven: My Search for Sarnie Shangri-La

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Hi Will, and thank you so much for dropping by for a read and posting your comment. I like your suggestion of adding quinoa in Mulligatawny soup, which by the way I love. I love all soup, actually. It’s the best part of cold weather: warm and hearty soup.

      I’m off to read your blog now! 🙂

  8. I’ve included one of your photographs in this week’s compilation: Short and Tweet Challenge 14: Lentil-stuffed flatbreads; North-South cornbread; Superwraps.

    I so wanted to pick a photo of Molly but thought that might just confuse the issue: maybe if it had been styled in the manner of Food On My Dog but I feel that proposal would definitely earn a look from the demure and decorous Molly.

    Thanks for participating 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I love participating, EV, and intend to keep doing so. I wanted to make the cornbread but I just ran out of time. Some other day.

      Now, as for Food on My Dog … P and I nearly died of laughter from that blog. How ever did you find it?! 😀

  9. Kathryn says:

    You’ve made me think it’s time to return to quinoa for the first time in ages. Really! These look and sound like a treat.

    And Molly, by the way, is one mighty winsome pup!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      It’s a dead-easy recipe, Kathryn, with amazing flavour and texture. Have a go, and pop back to tell us what you think! 😀

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

