In My Kitchen, February 2012

In My Kitchen: February 2012 – Misk Whisks

Celia, at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial posts a monthly article about new and interesting gadgets, food, books, and things in her kitchen. She always has fascinating things to show and tell us. At the end of her article, she invites everyone to share a bit about things in their own kitchen.

I don’t often join in, although I’m an avid reader and follower of this monthly piece. My kitchen is not very interesting when it comes to new and exciting products or food from specialty shops. This month however I’m going to show you one of my favourite little ingenious gadgets that I use every single day of the week, except on weekends when P. uses it.

whisk

These happy-looking red objects are a microwave-safe plastic whisks. I always use one when preparing a bowl of P’s oatmeal in the morning. Beep-Beep-Beep, Spin and Cook in my old microwave for 1min:40sec, stir with my happy whisk, and cook another 1min:20secs, and then stir a final time.

Truth is my microwave will never fail from overuse. I use it for two things: making oatmeal and warming up cold coffee. I usually store empty jars in my microwave, and pile dog food, collars and leads, brushes, chewies and treats on the top. It’s a very useful space-creating device.

Anyway …. Some how, leaving the whisk in the bowl of oatmeal, and I don’t know the physics of it, prevents the oatmeal from boiling over. I suspect it’s akin to why a wooden spoon prevents pasta water from boiling over.

I broke my plastic whisk last year after many years of use. I pouted for days when it broke, so I was delighted when I learnt that Lakeland Plastics was stocking this item again. And better yet, now they are in different colours. And it was on special, a 2 for 1 offer.

Happy days.

Happy whisking.

Is it my imagination or does this seem like an infomercial for the QVC Shopping Channel  …. ?

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Monica says:

    You have similar feelings about your whisk as I do about my julienne slicer. I did not know a wooden spoon in pasta water kept it from boiling over. I wonder if that would work for beans!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Is your slicer the mandolin type? Don’t know about beans – I’ve never had a problem with them boiling over.

  2. Misk, that’s really, really clever! I didn’t know that leaving a spoon in the oatmeal would stop it boiling over, and of course, you can’t leave a metal spoon in the microwave! Thanks for playing! 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      If I think of something more during February, I’ll post a follow-up. 😀

  3. heidiannie says:

    That looks like a very handy whisk. I have a metal whisk and a wooden whisk but no plastic one. Hmm- maybe I need another gadget!
    You could call this post, Misk Whisks! 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      It is *very* handy. And I’m chuckling happily … and I’m adding your suggestion to the title. Very cute. 😀

  4. Tandy says:

    thanks for the tip about the pasta water!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      And my thank for ‘following’, Tandy! 🙂

  5. Nicola says:

    Love the microwave as a store for dog detritus 😉 I rarely make porridge because of the pesky boiling over problem. Will test with a wooden spoon. Brilliant!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      The wooden spoon trick is for taming pasta water that’s trying to go walk-about. I saw these plastic whisks at Robert Dryer’s the other day, too.

  6. Awesome, ever seen these nifty little whisks before. I too enjoy my oatmeal, most mornings.
    🙂 Mandy

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Especially during the winter months! 🙂

  7. Shelley says:

    oooh that’s a handy tip about the oatmeal/pasta…thanks! And a handy, good looking whisk it is too! 🙂

    1. MiskMask says:

      Hi Shelley, and welcome! It’s not completely 100% fool-proof on bubbling-over oatmeal but 99% of the time it works. :). Thanks for dropping by!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

