Green With Envy Salad Dressing

The corner of my cupboard that’s designated as “that’s where all my dried herbs go” is packed so tight with mismatched, odd shaped glass jars that the whole mess of them are ready to tumble to the worktop when I open the cupboard door.

And then I went out and bought more to make Monica Shaw’s Ranch Salad Dressing. I knew I was making an impossible situation worse.

greenEnvy1

Solution: Use some of them. I tossed everything that I thought might play nicely together into the handblender’s beaker, and hoped for the best. And with the help of a fistful of fresh chives, I got the best salad dressing and/or mayonnaise on this side of the street. I could’ve said this side of the creek, or river, or mountains, or ocean or pond, or equator … but I decided to be modest and claim this side of the street as my cookery conquered territory. I haven’t told the neighbours yet.

greenEnvy2

Green Mayo and Salad Dressing

Ingredients:
100ml sunflower oil
100ml Light and Mild Olive Oil
1 large whole egg
2 tablespoons vinegar (I used 3T my apple cider vinegar)
50g chopped fresh chives
1/4 teaspoon dried onion granules
1/4 teaspoon dried tarragon
1/4 teaspoon dried parsley or 1/2 teaspoon fresh
1 large grated garlic clove
1/4 teaspoon white pepper
pinch of salt
a splash hot water to release emulsion and thin mayo

Method:
In a tall handblender’s beaker add each ingredient in the order listed. Insert the handblender into the beaker until it reaches the bottom, and then press the On button. With the blades running, keep blending until the oil emulsifies to a creamy colour. Now slowly pull the handblender nearly to the surface and plunge it back down to the bottom again, slowly. When everything is mixed, pull and push the handblender up and down faster with the blades running until the mixture thickens into a pale minty green mayo. For salad dressing, add a splash of hot water and mix to thin the mayonnaise to a more manageable (dressing) consistency.

This is a variation on Green Goddess salad dressing.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Monica says:

    You only have one corner of a cupboard devoted to spices? It must be a large cupboard. 😉 I have two shelves of a cupboard full of spices (one half of a shelf specifically devoted to Indian spices). It’s a beautiful mess. This dressing looks beautiful – I’ve only just had my eyes opened to the loveliness of tarragon. I’d like to use this as a dip for potato wedges.

  2. Misk Cooks says:

    It’ll be perfect for that. Tell me how you get on with it!

  3. Love this mayo/dressing recipe! Great combination of flavours.
    🙂 Mandy

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      It’s lovely. Subtle but still it has flavour that holds its own. I hope you try it! 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

