Question: Shall I Move …

on

… my Garden Diary here to Misk Cooks?

I’ve kept a Garden Diary of things happening in the greenhouse and the borders since 2003. A year ago the whole thing was moved from Microsoft’s Live blogging service to WordPress; they moved it for me crock, stock and water barrel. That was good because the previous blogging service (BT Openworld through Yahoo) also went under and took all of my content with it. That’s when I started up a new one on Live’s site, and then it closed shop, and now it’s sitting on WordPress. So that’s the history of my somewhat unlucky experience with keeping a garden diary.

My idea is to leave the content and photos from 2007-2011 where it is on WordPress, at My Garden Diary, but start the 2012 Garden Diary here at Misk Cooks.

I would appreciate your thoughts and advice (and experience!). Would that be too much content, sort of like Poundland trying to sell everything except car tyres (or maybe they do sell tyres!)?

This theme doesn’t allow tabs at the top, so I’d have to create a link to categories, or at least that’s how I was thinking of keeping it tidy.

I would appreciate your thoughts on this, and look forward to hearing from you! Thanks!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. ceciliag says:

    I have no experience of a virtual garden diary, my calender is mine. I hope that you would have it is still linked to your blog somehow though/ So we can still puddle over and have a look.. c

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Thanks for replying. The format would stay the same as you see at http://braendeholm.wordpress.com but I’d intersperse garden photos and commentary between cooking failures and suck like. Darn. Such like, I meant. Actually, suck like is pretty darned good, so I’ll just leave it.

  2. Joanna says:

    Look at the blogs you enjoy reading and see if they cover multiple subjects, if they do and you are comfortable with reading them like that, then why not? 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Good point. Really good point. Yes, thanks, Joanna.. 🙂

  3. Joanna says:

    PS. When I remember I back up my content from time to time, either the individual posts or by using the wordpress export option to create a file on my hard drive. I don’t think they are going under any time soon but you never know.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I’ll check into this export option and see what’s what with that. I had backed-up all the text but the photos were ‘stored’ on a different server. I could have re-done all the photos again but it just seemed too much work for the 3 people who read it. My old garden diaries were truly a record for P and me rather than anything else. Over the years that’s changed. Family in DK have PCs now, etc., so they read it too.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

