Dan Lepard’s Extra-Thin Rye Crispbreads

The last of December’s Short and Tweet Challenges. The clue to success is in its name: Extra-Thin. Not sort-of-thin or is-this-thin-enough. If you’re doubting your concept of ‘thin’, then you’ve not rolled it out thin enough. Keep rolling. Ro-lling, ro-lling, ro-lling out of the crispbread. I’m so tired so humming Christmas carols in my head. A bit of Creedence Clearwater is a nice diversion. Erm … where was I? Oh yes. It should be about as thin as a sheet of photocopy paper.

It should not be like this: this is too thick.

P1010275 (800x600)

Day #1: How Not To Do It

My first go at this recipe was heart-warming. The crispbreads were a flippin’ disaster; too thick, too hard, too much like MDF. My husband smiled, spread Stilton across the knobbly, bubbled surface, and chomped on the crispbread like a shark having a go at beef jerky. “Lovely flavour,” he said. I tell you the man obviously loves me because these aren’t crisp or thin or bread. I ate my Stilton with a spoon and tipped back a glass of port like a woman dying of thirst after working in a hot kitchen all day. “I’ll try again tomorrow,” I said. My husband smiled even though there was a glint of scepticism in his eye. Well, eyes really – he has two of them.

Autopsy on Attempt One:

Probable Problem #1 is I didn’t roll the dough out thin enough. After 12-minutes, the crispbread hadn’t crisped up nearly enough. It was somewhere between crispy and soft-gone-stale. So I put them back into the oven, turned on the fan and kept the door opened. After 10-minutes I’d baked something useful for ice hockey practise.

P1010283 (800x600)

P1010280 (800x600)

Probable Problem #2 is don’t accidentally double the leavening agent when you’re darned well trying to make something intended to be ‘flat’. For goodness sake, woman! Thick as a brick, both me and the crispbread.

Day #2 Another day, another attempt

My friend, the Bread Oracle at Zeb Bakes, gave me the clue for success. On Twitter she wrote that it’s all in how thin you roll out the dough. So I rolled and rolled, slipping the knife underneath the dough to release it from the work surface, and then rolled some more until the dough was less than 1mm. With lots of flour. There was flour everywhere. Geeze, and I do mean everywhere. I also decided to sieve out some of the wholegrain rye bits, and this resulted in a very smooth texture on baking much like the traditional Finnish Rye Crispbreads that Mr Misk and I love to eat. I also managed to get all of the measurements right this time. I’m usually very careful with numbers because of my problems with numerals but not yesterday. Oh well, all was okay today.

crispyRye1 (600x800)

Total success. Light as a feather, crispy and coloured like a golden autumn leaf. All I can say is, “Wow, Dan.”

crispyRye2 (800x600)

To join the Short and Sweet challenge next week: The Short and Sweet Challenge Schedule

Dan Lepard’s “Short and Sweet” Cookery Book at Amazon: “Short and Sweet”

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Well done to you – even if I have involuntarily irrigated my nose with tea while drinking this 🙂

    I so admire your rolling skills – it’s not something I’ve mastered at all so I tend to delegate it to my Best Beloved.

    Your Best Beloved is, indeed, a gem with a fine attention to detail.

    I’ve been surprised at what a difference crispbread thickness makes both to taste and crispness: I noticed this with the salt-glazed oat crackers and it seems the same for the rye crispbread.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Sorry about the nose. As for rolling, I have an old pin that my mother gave me for my “Hope Chest” when I was 16-years old. A hope chest; such a ridiculous idea. The rolling pin has ball bearings in it. It’s the type that most people curse as not being proper. I could probably sell the darned thing as an antique now.

  2. ceciliag says:

    What a delightful post. I do want to try, the last ones i made were ok on the day then soft the next, So I too need to do some Rolling and thank you because now I have ROLLIN’ ROLLIN’ ROLLIN’ punctuated with a YEE HA! stuck in my head, probably for the whole blimmin’ day!! c

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      No thanks needed. Always happy to plant a song in ones’ heart … or lips … or wherever. I’m sure that Daisy will be well amused by it. 😀

      Just bought the double cream. Mr Misk is extremely dubious of my butter escapade as his mother used to make their own butter. He said it was rancid and *&%!ing awful. It seems he’ll not be easily converted. We’ll see.

  3. Joanna says:

    roll those crisp breads roll em ! rawhide! I’ll just pick myself off the floor now. Well done! I Need to make some more as the ones I made didn”t follow the recipe very faithfully, though I was so delighted with the outcome I am not sure what to do. Loads of snap happy crackling love x Joanna

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Yes, we’re rather up to our armpits in crispy critters here, too. I wish these would freeze well – doubt that they will. Perhaps I should try with one of them and see! Looking forward to reading about yours. 😀 xx

      1. Joanna says:

        We’ve eaten all ours bar three ! Don’t know if I can face blogging for a while, I’ve kind of had enough for the time being. But I will tweet pics or email EM with a pic and a comment.

  4. Misk, they look amazing! I’ll add it to my list of things to try from the book…

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I’ve tossed a few into a freezer bag, and I’m hoping that they’ll survive a few days in the freezer. If they do, brilliant!

  5. So brave.. rolling anything that thin… I’d be smearing it off the counter with my fingers! Lovely, lovely thin flat bread!! Way to go!!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Thanks, Smidge. Lots of flour keeps them from sticking and smearing on the counter. These aren’t difficult once you get the hang of it!

  6. Nicola says:

    This made me chuckle and chuckle. I am now feeling very chuckley 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Chuckling is good. I love a good chuckling. 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

