Easy Low-Sugar Chocolate and Rolled Oats Cookies: Redux

Take Two: The version of this recipe calling for a mountain-load of Splenda went unceremoniously into the trash bin – we eat lots of dietary fibre; we don’t need laxatives.

P1010238 (800x600)

I made a new batch using Silver Spoon’s “Half Spoon”, and blow me down, they were delicious and had virtually no lingering after-taste that is often problematic with artificial sweeteners. The recipe calls for 1/3 cup sugar or Splenda, so I used half that amount of Half Spoon (ie., 1/6 cup) as per the manufacturer’s suggestion. Half Spoon significantly cuts total calories.

I also reduced the size of each cookie to about 2 teaspoons, so I squeezed about 14 cookies out of the total recipe. And those are sugar-free Rice Krispy Treats on the plate with the Chocolate and Rolled Oats Cookies. I call these ‘cookies’ because the recipe originates in Hong Kong, was tweaked in America, and re-tweaked by me in the UK. Credit where credit’s due.

Result? We have a winner here. These are good. I’d serve them to my mother-in-law who’s the best cookie baker in Denmark.

And here’s the recipe: Low Sugar Chocolate and Rolled Oats Cookies

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Fantastic, Misk! Good to know you nailed the recipe, I’ve always found the artificial sweetener thing hard as well. Have a fabulous Christmas!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Thank you, Celia, and Merry Christmas to you and your family. 🙂

  2. This is definitely an excellent idea, especially at this time of year when sugar is so abundant! I have never heard of Half Spoon but will look for it here.. love this type of cookie!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Straight Splenda is too overpowering for this recipe. You might achieve the same by using 1/2 sweetener and 1/2 sugar if you can’t find Half Spoon. I wonder if Splenda makes something similar? Merry Christmas, B!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

