Easy Low-Sugar Chocolate Cookies

Easy Low-Sugar Chocolate and Rolled Oats Cookies

These cookies have a rich, thick chocolate aroma that fills every nook and cranny of the kitchen. That’s the good bit, assuming you like chocolate.

P1010225 (1024x768)

The not so good bit is that the amount of sweetener called for in the recipe sent both my husband and I scampering to the WC within an hour, and we only ate 2 cookies each. So, I’m going to make these again but without the 1/3 cup Splenda. I’ll use Half Spoon instead which doesn’t seem to make hubby’s blood sugar levels rise and doesn’t have the laxative side-effect. Unfortunately, what it does have are calories because Half Spoon is half sugar and half artificial sweetener. We’ll have to remember that we can’t eat these without consequences to blood glucose levels.

I had high hopes for these cookies because the raw dough was delicious. Sadly, less so after baked but I think the Splenda is responsible for this change. I’ll report back later when I make these again with Half Spoon. Fingers crossed!

Easy Low-Sugar Chocolate and Rolled Oats Cookies

In a medium bowl, combine:

1 cup uncooked rolled oats (not instant oats)
1/3 cups sugar (or same amount granulated sweetener)
a pinch of table salt
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
a pinch of nutmeg or cinnamon

In a small bowl, combine and whisk together:

1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup olive oil
1 egg white

Prepare baking sheet with parchment paper. Combine dry ingredients in one bowl. Combine moist ingredient in another bowl. Add moist ingredients to dry, and combine well. Press down crisscross with a fork to flatten. Bake at 180C for 8-10 minutes. Cookies will firm-up on cooling.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. That’s a superb, easy recipe! So happening once the cookie jar needs a refill. Thank you, Misk!

  2. Made these cookies yesterday and only have one left. Delicious! My wee boy has requested them again, luckily; luckily they are so easy to make I can whipped them up as I cook dinner.

  3. linda says:

    I used coconut crystals as my sugar, so to keep sugar way down- they were good almost like a chocolate granola.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

