Sprout Shocker: Brussels Sprout Salad

I like sprouts. I like sprouts steamed, fried, sautéed, and now I’ve discovered that I like them raw. This shouldn’t come as a total surprise to me because I often shred them raw and add them to vegetable soup at the last minute. But eating them raw as a salad was a revelation. Totally delicious. Really! Fact is that I love coleslaw and I love sprouts, so the combination of these two things is a certainty in my opinion.

A note: The parmesan cheese replaces added salt since it’s salty by nature. If you don’t want parmesan in your Brussels Sprout Salad, add a pinch of salt to dressing when you prepare it.

P1010096 (800x600)

Brussels Sprout Salad with Creamy Vinaigrette

Ingredients:

1 spring onion thinly spiced at an angle
1 lemon, juiced, or 1 tablespoon white wine vinegar
1 teaspoon honey or agave nectar
1 teaspoon Dijon grainy mustard
Fresh ground black pepper
1 tablespoon olive oil
Approx 10 large Brussels sprouts per person
A bit of parmesan cheese, grated or shaved

Method:

Whisk together the lemon juice/vinegar, honey, mustard and pepper. Slowly add the olive oil, whisking until the dressing is emulsified. Or chuck it all into a jar with a tight-fitting lid, and shake until well mixed. Stir in the spring onion so the flavours mix into the dressing. If you want to cheat and save time, plop 2 tablespoons of full-fat mayo in a small bowl, whisk in the mustard until well mixed, then thin out the mayo-mustard mixture with the lemon juice until you’re happy with the consistency. Add the spring onion as before, and then mix the dressing into the shredded sprouts.

P1010092 (800x600)

Prep the sprouts by removing the outer leaves and cutting off the stem/root end. Either slice all of the sprouts in a food processor, or individually using a knife or a mandolin. Carefully separate the shreds so they look like very fine coleslaw.

P1010093 (800x600)

Place the shredded sprouts in a bowl and toss lightly with the dressing. Gently fold in the parmesan cheese, taste and adjust salt and pepper if necessary. It’s best served immediately after dressing.

P1010098 (800x600)

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    I just close my eyes and pretend they are not happening. He had sprouts with his sausage rolls tonight and was sooo happy. I remain to be convinced though I don’t mind them too much if they are stir fried with lots of garlic and sesame oil and so on… Have you had the brussel sprout tops this autumn, they have been good, I prefer them to the little green bullets myself.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      That’s a pity. Do you like cole slaw made from cabbage?

      I looked high and low for these brussel sprout tops, and couldn’t find them. I’m intrigued by them though, and I’ll continue to search them out next autumn.

      1. Joanna says:

        i might try it nevertheless, as you say it is so good 🙂 I would hatevto miss out. The sprout tops are usually in net bags next to purple sprouting, kale and the like,in our neighbourhood greengrocers, tight clumps of leaf and maybe a few teeny tiny baby sprouts attached. I have never seen them in a supermarket yet…

        1. Misk Cooks says:

          Oh, gosh. The pressure’s on, eh? I hope that you like them as ‘slaw’. Fingers crossed. 😀

  2. For me, the best part about this post is the way you have described each step in detail. Helps a lot. Very cookbookish 😀

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Thanks for the comment, and I’ll try to remember that method of writing up a post in the future. 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

