Dan Lepard’s Hot Crust Sausage Rolls #ShortandTweet

Page 505 of Dan Lepard’s “Short and Sweet” cookery book was a revelation to me. I discovered that I needn’t fear pastry, and I’ll never need to avoid recipes that require handmade shortcrust again. No more panicking and dashing off to the supermarket to buy a rectangular lump of packaged pastry that requires rolling out before use. Page 505 taught me that any old chestnut holding a rolling pin can make beautifully flaky pastry. It’s all in the recipe, you see, and in the recipe writer’s ability to dumb-down instructions to my level without being condescending to more skilled, experienced bakers. This recipe gets a huge thumbs-up from me.

P1010216 (1024x732)

I didn’t fiddle about with Dan’s ingredients or method for the pastry. I followed it word-for-word. Oh. Well. Except for the paprika; the supermarket didn’t have sweet paprika, so I used the smoky version. That was actually quite nice, so thank you supermarket shelf stockist guys for failing to do your job.

P1010221 (1024x731)

I did fiddle with the sausage though. I like very spicy sausage, so in addition to the chopped onion, I added 1 teaspoon of finely chopped fresh chilli, 1 teaspoon coarsely ground pepper, and a tablespoon each of fresh, chopped parsley and sage. I like sage in sausage. I also ‘scored’ the sausage meat with a knife, as this helps it hold its shape while cooking without it compressing. I learned this trick from my Danish mother-in-law.

P1010222 (1024x731)

I tried my new lame for slashing the pastry, but I couldn’t cut it deep enough so I used a paring knife. As the sausage rolls baked, I noticed that some of the slashes began to close up, so I’ll slash the pastry deeper next time, perhaps into the sausage meat.

P1010223 (1024x733)

Hubby liked these. His comment, “Damn these are good.”

When the man’s right, the man’s right.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Those sausage rolls look like they wouldn’t last very long if part of a festive buffet – delicious.

    Well done for sloughing your pastry fears (something that I think many of us share).

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I made half the recipe because it’s just P and me. Molly-the-Springer isn’t allowed such treats. Anyway, my point being that a festive buffet wasn’t needed in order to polish these off. We made short work of them all by ourselves. 😀

  2. Joanna says:

    Damn these look good 🙂 I must try your trick with the sausage meat next time. I found the slashing quite hard to do on these, if you cut into the sausage meat then the sausage meat sticks to the knife… and I did one lot on the bias and then they sort of unfurled and waved little fronds in the air. Yours look the business xx

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Thank you! 😀 In the end, I slashed mine with my pretty little yellow knife that I kept dipping into a glass of cold water. That seemed to work quite well.

      Now I’m contemplating what other fillings I could use? Do you have any suggestions?

  3. Wow, these look fantastic – I have never made homemade sausage rolls before – only ever pies – need to rectify that ASAP!.
    🙂 Mandy

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Very easy, Mandy, and you’ll be surprised by how delicious they are!

  4. Oh between you and Joanna I seriously need to make some sausage rolls this week. As has already been quoted “damn, these (look) are good.”
    Will try the scoring trick too.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Yes, you seriously *do* need to make these; they are seriously delicious. ;D

  5. #shortandtweet Sausage Roll compilation: includes not only this post but those from other bakers who were surprised and delighted by how straightforward and delicious these sausage rolls can be.

    I should report that there are already household demands to re-make this recipe so that we can experiment with your sausagemeat scoring technique.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      A very good read! Interesting that most shortandtweeters took on the sausage rolls. Those scones look nice though.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

