How-To Line a Tin with Non-Stick Baking Parchment

As I watched my husband on the verge of throwing the Christmas tree stand across the living room last night because he couldn’t figure out how to fit the bits and pieces together …. it occurred to me that I knew this frustration all too well. I’ve wasted so much energy trying to make non-stick baking parchment stick to the sides of a loaf/bread pan. The obvious problem is that I’m trying to make something with the description “Non-stick” do something that it’s not intended to do – namely, stick and stay put in a loaf pan. I’ve tried dabs of butter on the tin to keep the paper stuck fast, I’ve tried dabbing veg oil in strategic places, I’ve been tempted by the whispers of the kitchen fairies to try a bit of spit, or perhaps accidentally forget to cover my mouth and nose when sneezing. The latter two I hasten to clarify, I’ve not tried. Fairies – what do they know.

So yesterday I was baking some Danish-style rye bread (based on a German recipe), and I was instructed to line the loaf pan with parchment paper. Geeze Louise, I muttered to myself, here we go again. And then I had an idea.

P1010204 (1024x768)

I turned the pan upside-down, and mitred the paper to the corners for a tight fit like a hospital bed sheet. Then I pressed the folds down firmly, and carefully removed the paper (still folded into the shape of the pan). I turned the pan over, and then gently slid the folded parchment into the up-turned pan. It fit perfectly, and didn’t try to pop out or unfold or fly away.

P1010205 (1024x768)

I just stood there, staring at what seemed to be too good to be true. I placed the bread dough into the parchment lined pan, still rather astonished at why I hadn’t thought of this sooner. It worked a treat!

So now I’m wondering what right-on-the-cusp-of-brilliant ideas you might like to share to make our cooking and baking easier. Anyone?

19 Comments Add yours

  1. I shall try this and report back because I loathe lining tins.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      This method worked for me. But then I know how to mitre bed sheets, too, so that made it easy. Just pretend that you’re wrapping a Christmas parcel.

  2. dianadomino says:

    I am definitely trying this next time!! Thank you for the timely tip!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Diana, please come back after you’ve tried it and tell me how you got on because I want to know if it’s just me or if this really does work. It worked a treat for me!

  3. Joanna says:

    Genius!!!!! Seriously you are up there with the greats now 🙂 Now all you have to do is re-title the blog post

    “How to line a tin with non-stick baking parchment” and you will observe the hits on this page rise on a daily basis. The spooky magic of those two little words ‘how to….”

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      😀 I’ll re-title it now. Thanks for the suggestion. Now try it and tell me if it works for you, please.

      1. Joanna says:

        I’ve put a link to this post in my last cake post just now. I have to go and practise mitred corners.. will let you know how I get on x

  4. ceciliag says:

    awesome idea! You are a how to genius! c

  5. I don’t know if it’s on the cusp of brilliance, BUT… if you are ever making little mini tarts with a pastry base. Grease the tin first and then get two little strips of parchment paper cross them over and pop them in. Pastry goes on top to cook and when it’s time to get them out they just flick on out… easy! 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Oh! That is clever! Little pastry tarts can be so fiddly. And that’s a great tip for this time of year — mincemeat tarts and such.

      I do something similar when making meatloaf, cutting strips as wide as the loaf tin, criss-crossed, and then when the meatloaf is finished baking I can just lift it out using the overhanging ends of the strips.

  6. C says:

    Fabulous tip – will try next time I need to!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Hope it works well for you! 😀

  7. Thank you for this tip. It makes a lot of sense. Hope it works for me, next time I’m baking.

  8. Kim says:

    Brilliant,I get put off using loaf tins just because of the hassle of lining.This solves that problem,thanks.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I hope it works well for you, and many thanks for stopping by for a read. Hope you’ll return again. 😀

  9. Irma says:

    I looked for long time how to do this with MINI loaf aluminum pans; I want to give some gifts of pineapple banana bread and have to save the pans for more (had hard time finding hem)…I had another solution if I could not find any other option, but yours may be better than mine…as a child I watched my aunts bake and line pans with the paper from butter/margarine still greasy, then they would add more to the same paper. I remember upside down cakes and many other recipes, the cakes and breads would come out easy from molds and baking pans and dishes, then just remove the paper. I keep them folded inside the butter box in the freezer, ready to be used when necessary, they just thaw while mixing the ingredients…
    Happy baking ya’ll!

    1. Misky says:

      Wonderful idea, and thanks for posting it. Let me know how you get on with lining your pans, Irma.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

