A Blue Lame

Last weekend while my husband, also known in these parts and proximities as “P”, looked around the machinist’s shop in East Croydon for things that go torque and wrenches that do wrenching things … I was visually glued to the peg board behind the clerk. A whole wall of razors, blades, knives and hand-held thingies that I was convinced might double as the lame that my heart yearns for. Flip – preposition at the end of a sentence.

So I bought this one.

P1010139 (800x600)

Pretty. Lovely blue. Frighten spring function that means it opens like a flip-knife. But as a lame, it’s not what I’d hope for.

When will I learn that everything that’s pretty doesn’t work pretty well.

But not all was lost. P said “Don’t worry. I’ve had my eye on it. I’ll take it off your hands.” And so he did, rolling it expertly (or most worryingly) up and over each finger like a rolling wave.

I happen to know that youngest son has ordered me a proper lame from Bakery Bits for Christmas. Ho-ho-ho.

p.s. I’m told that this knife is a beauty for firmer dough. Thanks for the tip, Joanna!

knife_6Dec11

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    i know this quest, my current favourite for firmer doughs is this Kuhn Rikon knife, http://tinyurl.com/c6v4huc

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Oh for goodness sake! I have one of those. A pretty yellow one. 😀

      1. Joanna says:

        You mean you haven’t tried using it? Sharpen it up, dip it in a little water between slashes and give it a go. I have tried just about every knife in the kitchen, razor blades, lames, poodle claws…. 😉

        1. Misk Cooks says:

          I’ve hardly used it yet! I bought it because it was yellow, and that’s my favourite colour in my kitchen. And if ever I need a giggle I only need think “poodle claws”. 😀

  2. I’ve got a swivel lame from Bakery Bits- love it.
    Happy slashing Misk

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I’m looking forward to receiving my Christmas gift from youngest son. If he was listening to his mother he’ll be giving me a lame from Bakery Bits also. Wheeeeeeee!

  3. I have that knife… who knew it could do a little slashing too??!!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      The blue one or the yellow one? The blue one just dragged on the dough for me, although I saw a guy on telly last night slashing dough and his wrist motion was considerably faster than mine.

  4. hotlyspiced says:

    It’s a very pretty colour and should be easy to find in a messy drawer.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Good point! 🙂

  5. Misk, a couple of years ago, I got obsessed with finding the perfect lame. I had Pete make me one based on a sculpted wooden one I’d seen at sourdough.com, but it wasn’t really practical – I had to undo a couple of screws every time I wanted to change the blade. In the end I bought one too – and a whole swag of disposable razor blades. A knife is very good, but you’ll love having a “proper” lame! 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      My new lame from Bakery Bits arrived in the post yesterday but it’s a Christmas gift from one of my sons, so obviously I can’t open it. I am SOOO excited to try it! 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

