Misk Cooks Unplugged and In My Kitchen

on

 

Unplugged and In My Kitchen

I was tagged by my friend Brydie “CityHippyFarmGirl” at http://cityhippyfarmgirl.com/2011/11/23/unplugged-in-my-kitchen/ to answer a few questions.

1. What, or who inspired you to start a blog?

Initially Misk Cooks was intended as a reference for my daughter-in-law, tips and tricks, and family favourite recipes … but recently I had second thoughts. It occurred to me that my best intentions bumped along the bottom of rude-know-it-all-mother-in-law, which made me do a quick “double facepalm” in horror. I never want to be that, so I started changing the scope of Misk Cooks to a mixture of old favourites and new recipes worth making again. In a nutshell, it’s an online cookery book for my frequently flaky memory. I have an annoying habit of being habitual – making the same thing too frequently. I’m hoping this blog will keep my imagination ticking over.

2. Who is your foodie inspiration?

No one person in particular. Many people inspire me for different reasons.  I’m attracted to writers who share my concept of fresh, healthy food at reasonable prices. I avoid blogs that suggest a creamy mushroom sauce comes out of a soup tin.

3. Your greasiest, batter – splattered food/drink book is?

Oh, the horror! I’d simply spill over in tears if I splattered food or drink on my cookery books. Many are heirlooms passed down through the family to women how show a talent or interest in cookery.  I have several with worn and torn dust covers but that’s not the same.  I have two books that I bought years ago and they have very fragile bindings: A 1960s edition of “The Joy of Cooking” and “Delia’s Complete Cookery Course”.  I also have an old “Fanny Farmer” cookery book that’s excellent. Those three are my standby books when I need information. I use recipes as guidance and inspiration rather than gospel. Unless it’s bread …

4. Tell us all about the best thing you have ever eaten in another country, where was it, what was it?

It was a meal at a small fish restaurant in Skagen, Denmark: Oven poached cod in fresh cream with dill and shallots. It was served with new potatoes and green beans.

5. Another food bloggers table you’d like to eat at is?

I’d love to spend a few hours with David Lebovitz at http://www.davidlebovitz.com  His blog is funny, charming and self-deprecating. And very informative.

6. What is the one kitchen gadget you would ask Santa for this year (money no object of course)?

I don’t have room for gadgets in my kitchen. If an item isn’t used at least twice a month, it’s shifted into the loft and set in a box labelled “What was I Thinking”. However, my husband and I decided that we should buy a big upright freezer for our Christmas gift this year. I’m over the moon about this because my knees just can’t cope with the under-worktop, doll-house-size freezer I currently use. I mean my husband’s shoes came in a box larger than our little freezer.

7. Who taught you how to cook?

I think it’s interesting that so many bloggers say their mother taught them to cook. My mother was the head baker in my high school. She made cookies and rolls and loaves and dough using massive industrial-scale mixers for several thousand hungry teenagers. She couldn’t bake if her life depended on it at home because she could only do it for thousands rather than four people. My mother allowed me to wash-up the pots and pans and dishes but never cook because she flew around the bend when the cooker looked used or liquid splattered. I taught myself to cook, but I admit that cookery programs on telly are very instructional and useful for both technique and inspiration.

8. I’m coming to you for dinner what’s your signature dish?

Oh! Excellent! Bring a light red wine, please. I’m serving Spicy Paprika Pork Tenderloin and mushrooms with garlic buttered noodles. Dress in layers; this dish definitely has heat in it.

9. What is your guilty food pleasure?

Crisps. No weird flavour mimicry through chemicals. Just plain old regular salted variety.

10. Reveal something about yourself that others would be surprised to learn?

Thanks to my 1st and 2nd grade teachers, I hold a pen in my right hand and do everything else with my left. I’ve also been told that I have beautiful penmanship bordering on calligraphy. That’s what happens when you have to keep trying and trying and trying to write with the ‘wrong’ hand. Perfection.

Now to pass on to five other bloggers who may or may not like to cough up some answers.

I have a list on my Blog Roll but I also love reading these:

David Lebovitz at http://www.davidlebovitz.com
Clotilde Dusoulier at  http://chocolateandzucchini.com/
Deb Perelman http://smittenkitchen.com/
Heidi Swanson http://www.101cookbooks.com/
Kalyn’s Kitchen  http://www.kalynskitchen.com/

This concept was started by Not Just Any Old Baking.

And here’s my In My Kitchen contribution as started by Celia at http://figjamandlimecordial.com/ 

I’ve started a new batch of apple cider vinegar and the Mother of Vinegar is waiting in the wings to dive in and get sloshed.

P1010103 (800x600)

P1010105 (600x800)

My favourite French mustard cup that I bought in Paris.

P1010106 (800x600)

My kitchen friends: a little seated musical note with a pot belly that watches me cook from the windowsill, and my miniature porcelain dog named Buddy that I bought with my first pocket money at the age of 6.

P1010108 (800x600)

I have a collection of Royal Copenhagen Christmas plates, some of which are hung above the kitchen window.

P1010111 (800x600)

My special collection of objects and stones that come from various places around the world, picked up as memories of special moments.

P1010112 (800x600)

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    Love the wishbone and the kitchen companions! And delighted to hear that you are one of life’s crisp eaters too xx

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      The wish bone is from Emma. She said that I could have it because there were no more wishes left in it. I don’t know how she knew that but she seemed quite certain. The music note is from Copenhagen, and Buddy I bought in a thrift shop in Seattle. I was torn between Buddy and a very pretty (empty) perfume bottle. As a kid, I collected miniature perfume bottles. I’m glad that I bought Buddy. And crisps … Mmmmmmm.

  2. Misk, thanks for playing, what wonderful treasure you have in your kitchen! I love the pot-bellied musical note!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I must play more often. It was fun. 🙂 I just realised that I forgot to include a photo of my little porcelain bird! Next time…

  3. ceciliag says:

    I love salted crisps too they are my guilty pleasure..I loved reading this, i really should be going to bed, but it was great to pause for a bit and have a good rummage through your answers..ni night.. c

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Hubby (aka P.) bought some vegetable crisps the other day. I like the beet root ones but none of the others. If I’m going to be naughty and eat crisps then I want the real thing — plain old salty ones. Walker’s or Lay’s are the best.

      Hope your thanksgiving was lovely. 🙂

  4. heidi says:

    I love crisps- potato chips- so very much! I like the flavored as well as the salty- and my favorite are kettle cooked because they are usually curled up and give a very satisfying CRUNCH!
    I also have a ceramic dog very like yours- but not in the kitchen.
    And I have a wishbone collection that I sometimes spray gold, tie up with red satin ribbons and hang on the Christmas tree for everyone’s wishes!
    This was fun!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      When I’m in the US, it’s Ruffles that I crave. Dangerous things because I can’t stop eating them! And I love the idea of gold wish bones. I might save a few wish bones and do just that! 🙂

  5. Now after reading these comments I have an over whelming feeling to go find some crisps… and I never eat them!
    I love that you still have Buddy after all this time. I wouldn’t have a clue what I bought with my first pocket money.
    Thanks for taking the time to do this post Misk 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Buddy travels the world with me every time we are relocated to a new posting. He is wrapped in bubble wrap and I carry him to our next home in my handbag….along with a 1940s porcelain prototype of Bugs Bunny that my Dad gave me.

      I am quite honoured to be included in the group of friends who’ve been nominated in the past!

  6. C says:

    It’s really lovely to learn more about you! I tend to be very careful with my cookery books too, aside from the one I pictured on my blog that had a run-in with a hot hotplate (and that wasn’t even my fault!). It’s also interesting to hear that you didn’t really learn to cook from your mum. I felt bad by not putting my mum as my inspiration, but (and no offense to her!) she isn’t. We had very standard meals as children and nothing particularly adventurous or exciting. I wish we had because I might be a more adventurous cook and eater now!

    It’s lovely to see some of the items that live with you in the kitchen, lots of interesting things there!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Thank you C. :). My mum tried but not always with good results. Having said that I’m not always successful either.

  7. shuhan says:

    it was great to read this. i happened to chance upon your blog, thought it was so cute that you;re doing this for your daughter-in-law! it didn’t strike me as rude actually!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Hi Shuhan! Thank you so much for popping by for a reading and posting a comment. 😀 I’m glad that it doesn’t come across as rude – it’s risky turf for a mother-in-law.

      And now I’m off to read your blog! See you soon.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

