Rice Krispie Treats – Kids Play

on

My mother can’t recall for sure but she thinks maybe 9 or 10. That’s how old I was when I made my first batch of Rice Krispie Treats. It’s something that I reckon 75% of all North American kids know how to make. The method is not so commonly known to kids in the UK or Europe, who prefer drizzling melted chocolate over clumps of Rice Krispies. They know about the marshmallow version because you can buy them for an outrageous amount of money in the supermarket but not unsurprisingly these little sweet treats are dead easy to make and cheap as chips.

I make them with sugar-free marshmallows (again dietary restriction rather than dieting) and a vegetable and olive oil margarine spread. The original recipe uses butter rather than margarine.

Here’s the original recipe at the Kellogg’s website, which yields a lot more than a dozen 2-inch squares. Rice Krispie Treats

Note: Be sure that the Rice Krispies are fresh because if they’re stale the end result is a rather sweet rubbery concoction. Not totally unpleasant, as our Springer Spaniel has proven in the past by eating them without chewing and in hardly enough time to blink. She got her chompers on a few quite by accident, and naughty-naughty us because they were left within sniffing distance of her nose. She’s a good dog, but she is after all a dog.

To press the warm mixture into a greased/buttered pan can be tricky as the marshmallows stick to everything. I wrap my hand in cling film, smear a bit of margarine on it, and then press and smooth the warm treats into the pan. Don’t try this if the mixture is molten because you’ll melt the cling film – let it cool just a tad first. Then smooth and level the mixture into the pan corners, pressing down slightly (and carefully so as to not crush the cereal) until everything is *lightly* compacted and compressed.

Rice Krispie Treats

Ingredients: (makes approx a dozen)

2 tablespoons butter or margarine spread
150 grams marshmallows (I use Sainsbury’s Sugar-Free Marshmallows)
80 grams Rice Krispies

Method:

Prepare a square, glass baking dish (8x8x2-inch) by covering the base and sides with a light coating of margarine or butter. Set aside.

In a large non-stick pan, slowly melt the butter/margarine. When melted, add the marshmallows and stir constantly until melted and the butter is combined with the marshmallows. Remove the pan from the heat, and pour in the Rice Krispies. Carefully and with a light touch, combine the melted marshmallows with the Rice Krispies until completely and evenly mixed.

Transfer the warm mixture into the prepared glass dish, and then spread and level the mixture into the corners of the baking dish. A buttered spatula or greased cling film works well for this. Press the mixture lightly to compress it, but not too much as you don’t want to crush the airiness out of the cereal.

Cut into 2-inch squares. These are best eaten on the day that you make them, but if covered tightly with cling film, they’ll stay fresh and crunchy for up to 3 days.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    I have a nephew who would love these, he is mad for all things marshmallow. I will remember this for when he next comes to visit, maybe he could make it with me? I had a couple of goes last year at making marshmallows, the egg free variety, I have no idea how you would make a sugar free one. It must be out there somewhere…. 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Your nephew could absolutely, positively make these with your supervision. He could take on mixing the melted marshmallow and rice krispies together. Just remember not to beat the cereal into dust. 🙂

      Emma and I made these during the summer, and she’s almost 4. She smooshed the mixture into the pan for me, and then giggled at the way it stuck to her fingers and nose and chin and hair … and oh dear … we weren’t very popular with her mum that day. But do I care?! Not a notch.

  2. Joanna says:

    Just had a quick google, I have found a couple of recipes for doing it with splenda. Not trying to get you to do it or anything like that. Just amazing that you can find all these recipes on the net. xx

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      We need to find EM (or EV as I call her now) a recipe for double-action baking powder. She’s left a comment in the soda bread focaccia post.

  3. I should get The Monkeys to make something like this. They would be thrilled to get their sticky little paws in there 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Absolutely. 🙂 Just oil up their little fingers a bit so the marshmallow mixture doesn’t become huge nuisance sticking to their hands.

  4. Thought I’d better check yours out!! Not sure how I missed this post:) They look delicious! I also found your poem… so glad to have found a fellow poet… we have so much in common:)

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I bought more dried cherries and some dried cranberries today, so next week I’ll make a trial run to see if I can produce something worthy of Christmas treats. I still think yours are stunning though; inspirational.

      Yes, I’ve read your lovely poetry. You’ve written some very good pieces. 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

