Buttermilk Oatcakes and Roasted Applesauce

Dan Lepard’s Buttermilk Oatcakes from “Short and Sweet”

This is my second baking challenge from Dan Lepard’s new cookery book. I chose Buttermilk Oatcakes. Between the two recipes offered this week, I thought the oatcakes had the lowest GI, and therefore more compatible with my husband’s diabetic dietary needs. I reduced the sugar in the recipe by half, and replaced it with Splenda (any granular sweetener would work). I didn’t worry about the fats in the butter because there wasn’t that much. If I attempt this recipe again, I might try replacing a portion of the sugar with agave syrup … just as a test.

I put the rolled oats into a food processor and whizzed them up until medium-fine — a good mixture of fine and course flour.

I baked a test batch of 2 oatcakes first to determine if the dough was going to act up … curl up like a leaf, or puff up like soufflé, or run across the baking sheet like spilt milk. It did none of those things. I did think that they were a bit too thick, so I pulled out a ruler and measured. Sure enough they were 1/2cm, so all okay there.

I made three different sizes to go with different types of cheese. One a bit more rustic and rough for harder cheeses, another medium size and perfectly circular for softer cheese, and finally a circular size slightly larger for very ripe, drippy cheeses.

For lunch I had the 2 test oatcakes with some extra mature cheddar and roasted applesauce straight out of the oven — well, cooled a bit obviously.

Dan is right in saying that these are nothing like the store bought oatcakes. They’re a combination of digestive biscuits and tradition oatcakes. I look forward to hearing what my husband thinks of them when he returns home this weekend from a trip to Denmark. As always he’ll be saddled down with lots of yummy Danish cheese.

And while I was busy making myself a bit of lunch, this little guy was doing the same in my garden. A lovely green woodpecker.

To join in on the baking fun and participate in the Short and Sweet challenge, just pop over to “The Short and Tweet Baking Challenge”

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    What a lovely lunch! You are inspiring me to have a go at these. though I might leave the sugar out altogethrr if they are for cheese, on the other hand as a nibbling biscuit I might leave it in…. Decisions, decisions 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I didn’t find the faint sweetness a problem with the cheese, although I know this breaks with tradition. You could split the mixture in half, sugar in one and not in the other. 🙂

  2. ceciliag says:

    I have never made these before so i will try them when i get home! c

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Really yummy and very easy. Do you have Dan’s new book?

  3. Mine look considerably less regular than these so I admire the skill than went into your oatcakes.

    @Joanna I’d advise leaving out the sugar or cutting it down to no more than 1.5 tbsp if you’re planning to have these as savouries rather than nibbling biscuits.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I’m an old hand at shaping minced beef and pork patties, so that came in handy for this. Can’t wait to see the results from others who baked this week!

  4. MIsk I love that you did three different shapes for different cheeses. I don’t have the book but I do have a recipe for something similar sounding. My kids are always keen for different crackers so I should make some. Enjoy all that lovely Danish cheese.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      A few days after making them they went a bit soft but a few minutes in the oven, and they were as good as new. Hubby, who’s been away for two weeks, tasted his first one yesterday with a bit of Danish cheese. He said that they were delicious, so I’ll be making these again. He also said that he didn’t mind the slight sweetness about them.

      And before I forget, P (hubby) took those coconut biscuits to Holland and Denmark with him. They were a huge hit at the hospice where his father was for a few weeks, and his mum who just returned home from hospital also thought they were delicious. Now that’s a huge statement because she’s probably the best baker and cook that I’ve ever known. Thanks for that recipe!

  5. Lou says:

    Your oatcakes are really beautiful! I would pay very good money for those. Love your pic of the woodpecker too.

  6. Misk Cooks says:

    Hi Lou, and thank you for joining us here. 😀

    I was just looking at your Roast Onion Soup at ( http://pleasedonotfeedtheanimals.blogspot.com/2011/11/roast-onion-soup-with-thai-spices-rr-10.html ), and think I’ll make this during the weekend. It’s just the sort of soup that we love! I also like the idea of Random Recipes. Might join in, although making it all vegetarian will be challenge for my hubby as he’s a genuine carnivore!

    1. Lou says:

      Random Recipes is only vegetarian for this week, usually it isn’t. How was the soup?

      1. Misk Cooks says:

        I made a veggie minestrone soup this weekend instead. It was really cold and foggy here during the weekend, and it just seemed to beg for a really hearty soup. I’ll make your roast onion during the week. I love that we’re moving quickly back into soup weather again! I love soup.

        1. Lou says:

          You could live on soup and still have endless variation, couldn’t you?

          1. Misk Cooks says:

            No doubt, and without hesitation. Soup is one of my favourite foods ever. I bought a tin of coconut milk this morning, so I’m ready to try your roast onion soup today. I think I’ll make it this morning, then I’ll have some for lunch, and serve the remainder as a starter with dinner. I’m quite excited about it!

          2. Misk Cooks says:

            I just left a comment on your blog about this soup. 😀

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

