Notes On A Flatbread: Act Three

This morning I told myself that I’d give this recipe one more try, and if I still wasn’t happy with it then that was that — as a novice baker, I’d given it the best I had to offer. I did a few things differently this time.

I omitted most of the olive oil from the recipe except for lubricating my fingers, none after the initial rest of 10-minutes, and only applied to my fingertips for the three stretches in the first 30-minutes. I used a wet (with water) dough scraper to perform the blanket folds as the dough was semi-sloshy. The baking sheet was sprayed with olive oil rather than applying the generous amount as last time. I did however drizzle a small thread of olive oil over the dough just before it went into the oven.

The result was better than I’d hoped. A good crispy crust on top and bottom, and oven-spring that resulted in about 3cm height. Colour was golden, and the crumb was moist and chewy but not gummy from an overload of olive oil.

I’ve made notes in my “Short and Sweet” book as I’ll be making this again. Not the full recipe but half, as it’s a large loaf for just two people.

In a word: Success.

On to the next challenge. I’ve selected Buttermilk Oatcakes.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Well persevered, I’ve yet to go for ‘3rd time’s the charm’ – I’ll update the compendium post with this.

  2. Misk Cooks says:

    I have to admit that I’m rather glad this chapter is behind me. I didn’t really want to give up but there is a limit before it becomes obsession.

  3. Joanna says:

    LIke it? I love it! Yay! waves Kermit like hands in the air and does a little dance on the spot, falls down the stairs and rushes back into the kitchen….. xx

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I love enthusiasm! 😀

  4. So often I find the more often I’ve made a recipe, the more it’s perfected. I’m just so impatient, though, I want it to be perfect the first time!! Good for you figuring this out!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      A friend who bakes a lot tells me that it take repeated tries before you can do a recipe justice, and I think she’s right. It really turned out well today, and I’m so pleased! 😀

      Next challenge in the Short and Sweet book for me in Buttermilk Oakcakes. I’ve already prepped the rolls oats. Bring it on!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

