Twenty-Five Days and a Clean Drain

on

Revoir, adieu, arrivederci, à bientôt. The lemon juice experiment was a total bust, so goodbye my lemon love. Well, love is laying it on a bit thick, I reckon. I always suspected that this method, which looked so promising in the “How-To” video, was proof again that you can’t believe what you read on the internet.

My lemon juice did however produce a thick mat of cellulose so there’s no doubt that some sort of bacterial activity took place. Disappointingly, the process didn’t produce vinegar. The juice, which after filtering looked like water, completely lacked any lemon scent or flavour, and it certainly had no acidity that I’d consider a step toward vinegar. With no acidity, I worried that this flim-flam method had produced botulism or plague or super-strength drain cleaner …. which actually sounded quite promising ….

So the contents of the bottle went straight down the kitchen drain, the cellulose mat went into the bin, and I now have a lovely glass bottle with a pretty stopper top for mixing salad dressing. Shake-shake-shake, shake your boooo … bottle.

But I’m not deterred from the road toward vinegar because my apple cider vinegar is sublime. Stupendous. Splendid even. It’s ready for an introduction to oil and diced shallots.

Salad, anyone?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. ceciliag says:

    Mrs misk the things you do!!! OK I won’t try then, i have heard about the lemon theory to freshen drains! I won’t bother now.. c

  2. Misk Cooks says:

    Our old house in Surrey was on a septic tank, and we used lemon, soda crystals and very hot water to keep the drains clean and moving. Here in Sussex, we have proper drains that lead into a main sewer pipe but I still use the old lemon and soda crystals trick. You sure need to keep your nose away from the plug hole when you do it though – it’s seriously potent.

    I’m writing up the post on the apple cider vinegar today, which in my opinion is a huge success … well, I’ll write it up if I have the time because the November-Poem-a-Day Challenge starts today. Time to blow the spiderwebs out of my brain. 😀

  3. Glad to hear I’m not the only one with a few cooking disappointments.. good luck next time!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I certainly won’t try the lemon juice vinegar again. It’s a duff recipe, in my opinion. HOWEVER …. (drum roll) … the apple cider vinegar is a huge success. 😀 Wayhey!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

