The Vinegar Diaries: Day 35 – Filtered and Bottled

on

I decanted, filtered and bottled the apple cider vinegar from batch #1 this morning.

It’s delicious, and even though it has a sharp acidic tang, its aroma is soft and seductive. It’s a warm amber colour, and the liquid is filled and swirling with natural goodness  … even after double-filtering through a paper coffee filter. There was  a lot of particulate matter floating in the mix, so I wanted to filter that out just in case those little bitsy-bits turned into vinegar eels. I don’t think I could cope with that: I’m a girl – I’d scream.

This home-brewed vinegar is unlike any that I’ve bought or used in the past. If I had the room to keep bowls of apples fermenting, I’d regularly make my own instead of buying the commercial sort that shreds cells from the inside of your mouth … or removes varnish from antique furniture … or dissolves wax from hardwood floor boards. Unfortunately I don’t have the space for a fermenting room. Next house. Next life. Perhaps.

I’ll be using this batch of apple cider vinegar for special salad dressings because it deserves special attention. It is quite honestly very special.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    Lovely lovely! I filtered mine and found that over two days the particles slowly but surely in a gentle cloud settled to the bottom of the bottle and left me with an almost clear liquid. But who cares? We did it 🙂

  2. Misk Cooks says:

    We did, indeed! I’m rather chuffed about it all, to be honest. If I had more space in my utility room, I’d be fermenting stuff left, right and centre. This 1st batch is really delicious. Not sure about the 2nd batch though as MOM has turned into a large, stiff and thick cellulose disk. Oddly, quite reminiscent of the fibrous mat in the lemon juice experiment. Did yours ever go disk-like on you? I also noticed that some of MOM has turned colour from cloudy white-clear to a tannish-pink colour. I think it might be possible that MOM popped her clogs. 😦

  3. Joanna says:

    Maybe she is evolving into a new life form…. I observed fine white MOM film on mine before I filtered it… I read up a bit about acetobacter on Wiki and followed links, the role of the cellulose mat is not clearly defined, though it has several interesting applications potentially as wound dressings and other things….

  4. Misk Cooks says:

    I’m not sure what to do with that mat — toss it out and hope that a more familiar looking MOM appears? Batch no2 is still on Vinegar Road so I can’t filter it yet.

  5. A fermenting room eh? Now there’s an idea. I can just imagine it…. cheeses lining the back shelves, meats hanging from the ceiling. Several types of starter on the benches, vinegars, alcoholic drinks doing their thing… oh yes indeed! *sigh* that’s already my favourite room in the house, and I don’t have a house.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      No, no meats hanging from the ceiling. I couldn’t cope with that but maybe dried sausages. And lots of herbs tied in twine and hanging from rafters, and dried flowers. My grandfather used to hang his own birds and game, and as a child it gave me dreadful nightmares. Don’t want to go down that dark alley again. Nope, no sireeeee.

      1. Hmmm herbs and flowers hanging too…I’m really warming to the thought of this room now. And no birds hanging. I was thinking more prosciutto and salami’s hanging from the rafters.

        1. Misk Cooks says:

          …. and earthenware jars filled with pickled cucumbers and veg. Maybe we should try pickling some eggs in our room, too. 🙂

  6. Glenda says:

    Hi Joanne and Misky. This is really exciting. I have read every post. I so much want to create a mother. Any hints!

    1. Misky says:

      Hint: extreme patience. Developing a mother doesn’t happen quickly. It’s long process.

      >

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

