Chewy Coconut Cookies

on

This weekend I baked up two batches of treats for my diabetic husband.

It’s not always easy for a diabetic, especially those who develop the condition later in life. For years, they’ve enjoyed sweets, cakes, biscuits, and perhaps favourite Christmas treats that evoke memories of happy childhood … and suddenly they’re told that they must avoid such indulgences from now on. It’s rather like taking a tropical holiday, and strolling through warm shimmering water and glistening silver soft sand whilst wearing knee-high gummy boots and thick socks. Things are just never quite the same again.

Do you want to read more about this recipe?  ….. 

So when one my blogging friends posted this recipe, I was delighted. I knew I could adapt this to my husband’s dietary needs. I immediately set about buying the ingredients I needed to make them. I also had some coconut milk leftover, so I decided to use some of that in it just to see if it worked. It did!These are delicious, and I highly recommend them.

For instructions/method, please refer to the original recipe at  http://cityhippyfarmgirl.com/    The direct link to Chewy Coconut Biscuits is  http://cityhippyfarmgirl.com/2011/10/27/chewy-coconut-biscuits/
Original Ingredient List for Chewy Coconut Biscuits

125g softened butter
1 tsp vanilla 
1 cup desiccated coconut
1 cup plain flour
1/2 cup raw sugar
1/4 cup milk
Misky’s Slightly Altered Reduced-Sugar Version

125g softened unsalted butter
1 vanilla bean split and soaked in the milk with seeds added when mixed
1 cup desiccated coconut (unsweetened)
1 cup plain flour
1/4 cup sugar, plus 1/4 cup Splenda
1/4 cup semi-skimmed milk, less 2 tablespoons which I replaced with 2 tablespoons coconut milk
I followed the original recipe’s method, except that I baked them for a few minutes longer so they were crispy. My husband took them with him in a clip-top, plastic box on 2-week long trip away from home. He’s a man of few words, my Mr. Misk, but he had high praise for these and simply said, “Mmmmmmm”.

And now I’m wondering how these would be if I replaced 1/4 cup of plain flour with 1/4 cup ground almonds. If you’ve baked biscuits/cookies with ground almonds, I’d certainly like to hear from you so I know if this idea is feasible.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. ceciliag says:

    Oh lett me know how they go with nuts instead of flour. That sounds like a great experiment! c

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Only part of it, Celi — if all of it, we’d end up with marzipan or macaroons. I’m thinking 3/4 cup plain flour and 1/4 cup ground almonds. Do you think that might work?

  2. Definitely think it would work. I love ground almonds in biscuits, and with less sugar this would give the biscuits a bit more depth of flavour.
    I like the coconut milk in there as well 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Thanks for the feed-back. 😀 I’ll try it next time I make a batch.

      I always have coconut milk on hand because I freeze any leftover from a curry in ice cube trays, and then pop them into a ziploc freezer bag. When I make a curry, I just grab a few cubes and toss them in. 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

