So Easy It’s Criminal

I’ve been trying new dessert recipes that will accommodate my husband’s diabetes. We keep a very strict dietary regime and include exercise for the both of us which helps to stabilise glucose levels. We’ve been on a low GI diet for years, and we’ve both benefited from it. So, with that background behind us …

My friend at Zeb Bakes offered me some suggestions about fresh fruit wrapped in filo or other pastries. An excellent suggestion, mostly because I do it all the time. As a matter of fact, I’ve done it a lot recently to use up windfall apples.

This isn’t so much a recipe as instructions on how to make a quick, pretty and cheap dessert. All you need is a package of pre-rolled puff pastry, an oven preheated to gas 7/220C, a baking sheet lined with parchment, a bit of sugar, a drizzle of honey, and a couple of apples.

Cut off a section of puff pastry about an inch wider than the width of your apple and about 7 inches long for each person. Be sure that the edges are cut crisply or the pastry won’t rise well. Run a knife along each edge to create a 1/4 inch border. Drizzle a bit of honey or jam inside the rectangle created by your border, and then place your apple slices layering them slightly, well clear of the border so they don’t interfere with the dough rising. Sprinkle each rectangle with a little  sugar through a sieve so it’s evenly distributed.

Transfer them to your baking sheet using a spatula knife, and bake for 15-18 minutes until risen and golden. You can, if you wish, brush milk or egg across the border but if it settles on the edges, the dough won’t rise so I don’t bother. It seems to rise and colour nicely without an egg wash.

Nifty, eh?

10 Comments Add yours

  1. ceciliag says:

    AND it looks scrumptious.. I wish i had apples this year! Next year we will! We have pears though but it just is not the same.. c

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      If we lived closer, we’d be exchanging apples for pears! I could do with some pears. I want to make my mother-in-laws pear tart and I’ll be buying them at the supermarket.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      The recipe that I used as a guideline had a dollop of orange marmalade below the sliced apples. I can’t do marmalade because of Mr. Misk’s diabetes but a squirt of agave worked nicely.

  2. Joanna says:

    Lovely dessert! Thanks for the mention too. My apple slices always shrink no matter what when I do this sort of dish, maybe it’s the sort of apples I use, or maybe I just don’t layer them up thickly enough. Good excuse to practise again soon 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Mine didn’t shrink too badly but then I packed them together in a fan shape, and they were sort of al dente in texture.

  3. This looks like a lovely re-visiting of the tarte tatin the French enjoy so much. I’m going to give this a go.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      If sugar isn’t an issue for you, ie diabetes, etc., then try a dollop of lemon curd on the pastry before layering the apple slices. I think that combo might be sparklingly, splendid. 😀

  4. It ISSS criminal 😀 I loved your post. When you do have the time, do drop by my new space and give me your feedback!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Hi there, and welcome to Misk Cooks! I just popped over to your new blog and read your post about that intriguing spaghetti with mushrooms. What else did you serve with it? Maybe a salad or fresh bread? 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

