The Vinegar Diaries: Day 4 – Lemon Twist Vinegar

It’s the fourth day, and I see cirrus-like clouds of something suspended in the liquid. Is the Mother forming? Just one more day, and then we add some more strained lemon juice and an equal amount of water. Then it gets a few vigorous shakes so everything is mixed thoroughly.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    Love the new theme. good choice! Am fascinated by this lemon project, hope ot works 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Thanks, Joanna. I was bored with the other one. A change is good once in a while. I’m surprised that the lemon juice and water is heading in the same direction as the apple cider malarkey. And it has no sugar in it either. On day one it was crystal clear, no pulp or fuzzy-wuzzy-stuff. Now there are little clouds streaking through it. Very interesting. 😀

    2. Misk Cooks says:

      By the way, this theme doesn’t allow for tabbed pages at the top like my old theme (or your theme). There’s always a trade-off, eh?

  2. ceciliag says:

    How did I get so far behind on the vinegar. i am going to have to play catch up. This looks amazing and a wee bit scary! I have to get onto this.. c

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I’ve had to rethink my apple cider vinegar. It’s turned very sour but I don’t believe that I have ‘real’ vinegar. So I strained off the sediment at the bottom of the jug, and added 5 chopped up apples. I’m going to see if I can get a good ferment going again but this time I’m not going to stir it like I was told to. I’ve read that it shouldn’t be stirred because this can force the Mother of Vinegar to the bottom of the jug, and when that happens apparently the Mother rolls over and plays dead.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

