The Vinegar Diaries: Day 15 – Are You My Mother?

on

When I was a little girl this was one of my favourite books, “Are You My Mother?” Nowadays I stare into a cheap plastic jug at a noticeably less bubbly substance that’s still apple cider. There’s an unmistakable accumulation of white stuff on the surface. And again I’m asking, Are you my mother?” – Mother of Vinegar that is.

Mother of Vinegar, to paraphrase Wikipedia, is a harmless albeit unattractive mass of cellulose and acetic acid bacteria that develops on fermenting alcoholic liquids. With the help of oxygen, it turns alcohol into acetic acid to create vinegar.

That’s the theory. And I’m looking into my plastic jug, and wondering: What’s the reality … Are you my mother?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    You got me 😀 I love it!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      xx I’m off to enjoy a piece of shrapnel from my blown bread.

  2. teawithhazel says:

    your vinegar is really fermenting away furiously..your ‘mother’ seems to have anger issues! 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Anger? Really? Gosh, I thought it was a rather jovial sort….

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

