The Vinegar Diaries: Day 8

Yesterday I tasted my fizzing apple … erm … stuff, and I was left in a quandary. At this stage I have no clue what to call this stuff that I’m brewing because it’s neither vinegar nor proper cider nor wine. It’s not coffee or tea or water or lemonade, and it’s certainly not salad dressing, oven cleaner or shoe polish.

Anyway, a few hours after tasting it, I was on the trot down the hall to the loo. Total coincidence, I’m sure. I hope. But the point of giving you more information than you probably ever hoped to read here is that this reminded me of a side trip that P. and I took into the hills of Oden Wald above the River Neckar that flows through Heidelberg. The Oden Wald is an exquisite area with serene 2-lane roads winding through deeply scented pine trees and mountain air. And we were both dying for a public toilet.

We didn’t really want to stop along the side of the road and empty ourselves, although P. is better able to complete this type of manoeuvre than I am with a slightly arthritic hip and knee. And then I saw a sign along the roadside that I thought was calling out to us. My German is limited, obviously, and misinterpretation is often the result.

Nevertheless, we both agreed that this spot was as good as any other.

Oh. And nothing new to report on the vinegar front. It’s still hissing and fizzy, and I sure wish that I knew what I was doing …

4 Comments Add yours

  1. teawithhazel says:

    that’s hilarious..i love it! they’re sure asking for it..

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I still don’t know what that word actually means. Haven’t found anyone who knows yet. It struck me as very funny, too.

  2. Joanna says:

    Eine Delle is a dent and I am pretty sure that the unfortunate Krappen is a surname… so maybe it is used here like we would use the word dell, a small leafy valley among trees? The Krappen family valley? What do you reckon?

  3. Misk Cooks says:

    Very accurate, actually. This small area was a lay-by with a trash bin, a large log to sit on and just opposite was that sign. There was a slight incline, which naturally I managed to slide down when my feet lost grip on the soft layer of leaves. I think I slid about 4 meters before I managed to grab on a bush and hold on. So much drama for just a little tinkle in the woods. ;D

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

